Lakes and Islands, Times Past
Search Our Collection


Ballantyne's School SS#3 South Elmsley about 1895

Ballantyne's School SS#3 South Elmsley around 1895. The school was built in 1860 by William Ballantyne.

Ballantyne's School SS#3 South Elmsley about 1895
Otter Creek Cheese factory after 1940

The earlier Otter Creek cheese factory burned in 1940 and was replaced by this building which functioned until 1955. It then became a private home ...

Otter Creek Cheese factory after 1940
Nina Churchill and her class in 1953 at Dancy School SS#10 Elgin

Nina Churchill with her class at the Dancy School SS#10 in South Crosby Rear L to R: Bruce Bishop, Mike Carty, Joe Carty, John Perrin, Beatrice ...

Nina Churchill and her class in 1953 at Dancy School SS#10 Elgin
Leggett family reunion at Clear Lake 1891

Leggett family reunion 1891 at the farm of William Leggett and Elizabeth Sly Leggett. Names are as follows :Back row L to R : Jack Leggett, wife ...

Leggett family reunion at Clear Lake 1891
Ormond Wright family c.1910 in house owned by the Covells

Ormond Wright family in front of the house owned by the Covell family c.1910. This house operated for many years as the Anglican Rectory in South ...

Ormond Wright family c.1910 in house owned by the Covells
Holy Trinity Anglican Church in South Elmsley c.1950

The Holy Trinity Anglican church dates from c.1890 although an earlier Anglican church was located in the immediate vicinity.

Holy Trinity Anglican Church in South Elmsley c.1950
South Elmsley Hotel c.1900

The South Elmsley Hotel was located where the present day Ferry Road meets Highway 15. It was operated by John Looby and later by William Brown, ...

South Elmsley Hotel c.1900
Women's Institute Hall in Lombardy

The Lombardy Women's Institute Hall was originally the Holiness Movement church built in 1896. It was taken over by the Women's Institute in 1949 ...

Women's Institute Hall in Lombardy
Rideau Ferry regatta in 1948

The Rideau Ferry Regatta was established in 1897 after the growth of cottages and tourism in the area. This photo shows people lined up along the ...

Rideau Ferry regatta in 1948
Aerial view of Rideau Ferry c.1970

Rideau Ferry from the north side after the bridge was built in 1961. Cottages and boathouse on the southeast side are gone.

Aerial view of Rideau Ferry c.1970
Rideau Ferry ( Oliver's Ferry) c.1895

This photo was taken in the late mid to late 1890s of Rideau Ferry when it was still Oliver's Ferry. The photo can be dated after 1895 after the ...

Rideau Ferry ( Oliver's Ferry) c.1895
Albert E. Wood c.1905

Picture of Albert E. Wood c.1904. Albert (1884-1972) was the municipal clerk of South Elmsley from 1920-1937.

Albert E. Wood c.1905
Lombardy Public School SS#6 about 1908

Maud Poppelwell and her class at Lombardy Public School SS#6 Names include Front LR Leonard Hughes, Tommy Healey, Jim Thomas, ? , Albyn Cauley 2d ...

Lombardy Public School SS#6 about 1908
Iola (boat) in 1904

Iola was a steampowered boat later changed to gasoline. This photo was taken in Petty's Bay Upper Rideau Lake in 1904.

Iola (boat) in 1904
Poonamalie School c.1965

The Poonamalie School was not heavily attended and closed in 1955. The building has since been torn down.

Poonamalie School c.1965
Blanchard's Hill School

Blanchard's Hill School shared with Kitley. Picture taken about 1905 with teacher Annie Dunn.3rd from left Gould, Martin, M. Blanchard, Blanchard, ...

Blanchard's Hill School
Horses laying down rail for C.N.R. in 1912 at Lombardy Station

Laying down track near Lombardy Station for the C.N.R. line in 1912. The crew consists of both locals and immigrants.

Horses laying down rail for C.N.R. in 1912 at Lombardy Station
Otter Creek cheese factory fire c.1970

Fire at Otter Lake Cheese Factory, which closed in 1955, became a private home and burned in 1970

Otter Creek cheese factory fire c.1970
Lewis Cottage on Petty's Bay Big Rideau

Sam Lewis' cottage on Petty's Bay Big Rideau Lake c.1910. Note the tent beside this early cottage.

Lewis Cottage on Petty's Bay Big Rideau
Day's catch on Big Rideau c.1900

Grampa Lewis, Sam Lewis and Jim McCreary with a day's catch c.1900

Day's catch on Big Rideau c.1900
Tweedy and Looby families c.1895

Photo of four generations of Tweedy-Looby families c.1895 including L to R daughter Margaret Tweedy married Edward Looby, Margaret Jane Looby married ...

Tweedy and Looby families c.1895
Canoeing on Bass Lake at Lakeside Farm c.1905

Canoeing on Bass Lake at Lakeside Farm c.1900

Canoeing on Bass Lake at Lakeside Farm c.1905
Otter Creek Cheese Factory

Otter Lake Cheese Factory c. 1946

Otter Creek Cheese Factory
Lombardy public school class SS#6 in 1934

Class of 1934 Lombardy Public School SS#6 South Elmsley Back row L to R: Lester Lewis, Roy Patterson, Geraldine Covell, Cora Hodgins (teacher), ...

Lombardy public school class SS#6 in 1934
Gordon Smith's Store in Lombardy 1958

Gordon Smith's store in Lombardy c.1958. It was owned before by Michael Dooher, William McSpadden, Clarence Hogan and Percy Jones. On the far right ...

Gordon Smith's Store in Lombardy 1958
Fetching water at SS#3 Ballantyne School c.1913

Boys fetching water from Ballantyne's farm for the SS#3 South Elmsley Ballantyne school during recess in 1912-13 L to R: Arthur Hunter, Clifford ...

Fetching water at SS#3 Ballantyne School c.1913
E. Errett and Sons sawmill c.1900

E.Errett and Sons sawmill c.1900

E. Errett and Sons sawmill c.1900
Joe Ellswood conduction a farm auction c.1954

Joe Ellswood conducting a farm auction in South Elmsley c.1954. He also was a local farmer and future reeve.

Joe Ellswood conduction a farm auction c.1954
Steacy Moorhouse and Fred J. Kelley c.1905

Steacy Moorhouse and Fred J. Kelley c.1905

Steacy Moorhouse and Fred J. Kelley c.1905
Cutting line for CNR railway near Otter Lake c.1912

Cutting the line for the Canadian Northern Railway near Otter Lake about 1912. Several Blanchards and George Bass are part of the group.

Cutting line for CNR railway near Otter Lake c.1912
Wood family at Lakeside Farm near Bass Lake c.1905

Members of the Looby family at Lakeside Farm c.1905. Back l to r: Dorothy McVeety, Jane Wood McVeety,James McVeety, Johanna Looby Wood, Robert ...

Wood family at Lakeside Farm near Bass Lake c.1905
Hogan's grocery store and gas bar in Lombardy, Ontario c.1950

Hogan's Grocery and Gas Station in Lombardy c.1950. It was formerly Brookes' store and the Post Office was there for a time. The Shell pumps were ...

Hogan's grocery store and gas bar in Lombardy, Ontario c.1950
Otter Lake School SS#8 South Elmsley - Jen McVeety, class and parents c.1895

Jen McVeety and her class with parents posing in front of the Otter Lake School (SS#8 South Elmsley) Identified people include William Tweety, ...

Otter Lake School SS#8 South Elmsley - Jen McVeety, class and parents c.1895
Ballantyne Community Club Float 1950

The Ballantyne Community Float at the Smiths Falls Old Home week in 1950. They received first prize. The float, decorated by the members, included ...

Ballantyne Community Club Float 1950
Rideau Ferry Bridge c.1935

Rideau Ferry Bridge from the southeast side, c.1935. Note Duncan Campbell's house and Wills boathouse.

Rideau Ferry Bridge c.1935
Oliver's Ferry c.1850

A drawing of Oliver's Ferry c.1850 by Edwin Whitefield. The ferry was named after John Oliver but later his son William took over operation. ...

Oliver's Ferry c.1850
William James Looby and his wife Florence Covell Looby in 1909 after their marriage

William J. Looby (1877-1957) was the son of Edward Looby and Margaret Tweedy. He married Florence Covell(1886-1955) in 1909 and the couple did not ...

William James Looby and his wife Florence Covell Looby in 1909 after their marriage
Mutual Improvement Committee c.1895

The Mutual Improvement Committee was started in the Ballantyne area of South Elmsley in 1894 to host entertainment and literary events. It disbanded ...

Mutual Improvement Committee c.1895
Martin House built c.1894 located on the Brockville Road in South Elmsley

The Martin House was built about 1894. Note the central gable in what is usually the front of the house. This was a variation of a more common ...

Martin House built c.1894 located on the Brockville Road in South Elmsley
Lakeside farm of the Wood family c.1905

Lakeside farm and members of the Wood Family on Bass Lake c.1905. The Woods were early settlers (c1835) of Scots origin. Robert Wood is the second ...

Lakeside farm of the Wood family c.1905

Powered by / Alimenté par VITA Toolkit