the junior high room in operation. The adult department was also beginning to feel pressure for more space. The library board therefore petitioned the village trustees to approve a special tax levy without referendum to cover a period of three vears to secure funds with which to enlarge the building. This was granted. Plans originally called for building both additions in 1967 but conditions became so critical in the children's room that the children's wing was built in 1965, two years ahead of schedule. Dedication ceremonies were held November 14, 1965. The junior high room was moved from its upstairs location to occupy the old children's room.

In 1967, the adult addition was built. This included a large extension of the reference room, a new workroom, two offices, coat room, and receiving room. The lobby was enlarged and the former magazine room converted into a business room. A new entrance to the parking lot off the Park Avenue lobby also provided an area for a new memorial garden presented by the Wilmette Garden Club. Dedication of the adult wing was held September 24, 1967.

Many fine, public-spirited men and women have contributed generously of their time and talent to the development and maintenance of the Wilmette Library through the years as members of the board of directors. Space does not permit adequate mention and tribute to all of them. Three, however, because of their long years of service deserve special mention. They are: J. Robb Harper, who served the library for thirty-three years; J. Hugh Foster, who served twenty years; and John F. Hoffman, Jr., who served for eighteen years.

Wilmette's librarians have contributed their share to the growth and development of the library. Great credit must go to Miss Anna E. Law, Wilmette's first librarian, for her untiring efforts to establish and interest the people of Wilmette in a free public library and for her loyal services to the growth of that library after it was firmly established. Miss Law resigned in 1920. Her successor was Miss Sue Osmotherly (later librarian of the Winnetka Public Library). Miss Osmotherly resigned in 1924 and was succeeded by Miss Anne L. Whitmack who served until 1942. Miss Jane C. Des Marais was librarian until 1945. The present librarian is Miss Helen Siniff.

690