

FROM WATERLOO LUTHERAN UNIVERSITY

WATERLOO UNIVERSITY COLLEGE - WATERLOO LUTHERAN SEMINARY
75 UNIVERSITY AVENUE, WATERLOO, ONTARIO, CANADA
TELEPHONE: AREA CODE 519, 744-8141

057-1968 Gerry McLoughlin March 26, 1968

For release after 8 p.m. wednesday - March 27, 1968

Waterloo Lutheran University Honours

Athletes at Annual Awards Dinner

The athletic department at Waterloo Lutheran University presented awards to 176 students who took an active part in varsity competition during the 1967-1968 season,

The awards were presented at the annual athletic banquet held tonight.

A student manager was awarded the Bill Haggstrom Trophy for the person who has contributed the most to athletics in three years at Waterloo Lutheran.

The award to third year honours geography student Ron Watkin marked the first time that such an honour was accorded to a student who did not actually play in one sport.

For the past three years Ron, a native of London, Ont., has been football manager as well as equipment manager, a vital member of the personnel required to field the various teams.

In addition to his managerial duties, he also played intramural sports and devoted countless hours to the Letterman's club as treasurer and this week became vice-president of the club.

... 2

Girl's basketball, volleyball, badminton, curling and cheerleaders accounted for 40 awards. The Dean Brandon Trophy for the person who had contributed the most to athletics went to Marsha Powers, a second year general arts student from Lunenburg, N.S.

Jewel Arnott and Carole Roberts received the most valuable player awards for volleyball and basketball respectively.

The climax to a successful athletic year at WLU was the national championship gained by the Golden Hawks basketball team at Antigonish, N.S.

The Hawks in winning their first Canadian title ended the season with a 21-6 won-lost record and recorded their fifth straight championship in the Ontario Intercollegiate Athletic Association.

The Dr. A. Little Trophy for the outstanding basketball player was presented to Norm Cuttiford, the 6'6" all-star Canadian centre from London, Ont.

Cuttiford proved instrumental in the Hawks 82-81 win over the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds at the National finals, as he scored the final four points of the game.

The championship Hawks will lose forward Dave Baird through graduation this year. Baird was the leading scorer in the OIAA basketball conference this season.

Pete Misikowetz, the Most Valuable Player selection at the Canadian finals will not be returning to the Hawks next season since he will be graduating from WLU in May. Misikowetz who played his high school ball at London Clarke Road was also named to the Canadian all-star team along with Norm Cuttiford.

The Letterman Trophy, emblamatic of the outstanding hockey award, was presented to Ken Payne, a native of Elmira.

Ken, in his third year at WLU exhibited the experience gained with the Waterloo Siskins of the OHA junior B as the first string goalie for the Hawks.

The Hawks finished third in the OIAA behind Laurentian and York.

Ken played well between the pipes for the Hawks all season and was the key to many Hawk wins.

The hockey Hawks will lose the services of Joh O'Flaherty, Bob Seager, Frank Hoyles, Gary James, Ken Seiling and Payne. All are seniors at WLU.

The outstanding football player award went to John Kruspe. The second year Clifford native was instrumental in many of the Hawks wins this year. Kruspe was also elected President of the Letterman's Club earlier this week.

John, running out of the halfback position, should be an added asset to Coach Knight's plans for the 1968-1969 gridiron season as the Hawks will try to better their third place finish recorded this season.

The football Hawks had two players drafted by the professional leagues. End Paul Markle was selected by the Toronto Argonauts while 225 pound tackle Brian Montieth will report to training camp with the British Columbia Lions.

At the end of the football season, Mike McMahon was named to Central Canada Intercollegiate Football Conference all-star team.

All students involved in athletics at WLU vote for the most valuable player award in their individual sport while casting a vote for the person who has contributed the most to athletics at Waterloo Lutheran.

Guest speaker at the dinner was Glenn Carroll, acting director of the School of Business and Economics.