

Student Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, February 28, 2001 7:00 pm

Laurier Brantford 73 George Street Brantford, Ontario N3T 2Y3

Laurier Brantford Awards Ceremony

Programme

Welcome:

Dr. Leo Groarke

Dean of the Brantford Campus

Opening Remarks: Dr. Robert G. Rosehart, WLU

President and Vice-Chancellor

Dr. Rowland Smith, WLU Vice President: Academic

Mayor Chris Friel City of Brantford

Presentations to

Recipients of 2000-2001 Scholarships, Awards and Bursaries

Reception to follow

Bison Alumni Bursary

Recipient: Adam German

This bursary is to be awarded to one full-time student studying at the Brantford Campus. The recipient must be a well-rounded individual who demonstrates leadership qualities and contributes to the community.

BML Multi Trades Group Bursary

Recipient: Luke Kumar

One bursary will be awarded to a Brantford area student attending the Laurier Brantford Campus.

Arthur D. Calbeck Memorial Scholarship

Recipients: Jesse Loncke, Shryal Racette

Two bursaries are available for full-time students at the Laurier Brantford Campus. The recipients must be residents of Ontario.

Gordon and Jane Glaves Bursary Fund

Recipient: Kelly Hiscock

A bursary will be given to a Brantford area student attending the Laurier Brantford Campus.

The Grand Valley Educational Society Bursaries

Recipients: Jill Davidson, Drew Hussey, Tricia Nelson, Tina Noble

The Grand Valley Educational Society is an organization dedicated to the enhancement of post-secondary education in Brant County. As part of that mission, the Society will provide a bursary program for part-time students attending Laurier Brantford Campus.

The Grand Valley Educational Society Entrance Award

Recipients: Heather Barrie, Heather Goodman, Anna Magdziak, Tanya Sargent, Monika Skacal

Available to students who enroll in the first year of a full-time program at Laurier Brantford Campus. To be eligible for an award, a candidate must reside within the geographic boundaries of Brant County, must have demonstrated good academic achievement and have an offer of admission to the Laurier Brantford Campus. Participation in extracurricular activities in secondary school and the community is also considered.

The S.C. Johnson and Son Scholarship Fund

Recipients: Rachel Fayter, Tanya Sargent, Monika Skacal,

Jessica Stephenson

This award is given annually to students enrolled in the first year of full time study at the Laurier Brantford Campus, and is available to students who have high academic achievement, preferably an A average in their Ontario Academic Credits (OAC). In addition, they will have a well-rounded background with involvement in school, community or volunteer events.

The Kiwanis Award

Recipient: John Bunner

The Kiwanis Club of Brantford has established this award to benefit students attending the Laurier Brantford Campus. Recipients must have a minimum GPA of 9. Preference will be given to Brantford and Brant County students.

G & A Masonry Scholarship Fund

Recipient: Peggy Weston

Two awards are given annually to second, third or fourth year WLU students who have good academic standing (minimum 9.0 GPA) and demonstrated leadership and interpersonal skills.

The Rotary Club of Brantford Scholarship Fund

Recipient: Mitzie Ladd

This award is given to students from Brantford and Brant County entering first year at the Laurier Brantford Campus. The recipients must have a minimum 75% average in their Ontario Academic Credits.

University Women's Club of Brantford Award

Recipient: Jennifer Feijo

Established by the University Women's Club of Brantford, this award is given annually to a full-time female student enrolled in any program at the Laurier Brantford Campus. Students with a minimum GPA 8 and are active volunteers on campus or within the community may apply.

Wescast Industries Scholarship Fund

Recipients: Lani Ferguson, Jolene Wormald

Three scholarships are available for full time students attending the Laurier Brantford Campus. Two awards are available for first year students who have proven participation in community or school activities during their secondary school years. One award is available for second year students who have maintained a minimum average of B+ (GPA 9) during their first year of studies and who can demonstrate leadership qualities in the community or at Laurier.