NEWS RELEASE

Wilfrid Laurier University



Laurier recognizes recipients of prestigious Weston scholarships

Award recognizes academic excellence, financial need and extracurricular activity

For Immediate Release January 26, 2001

Contact: Pamela Healey

Director, Development & Alumni Relations

(519) 884-0710 ext. 3173

Or Michael Strickland, Manager, Media Relations & Information (519) 884-0710

ext. 3070

WATERLOO - Wilfrid Laurier University will recognize the recipients of one of its most prestigious scholarships, and thank the donors who created the award, during a reception next week. The University's senior scholar, vice-president: academic Rowland Smith, will host a reception for the Garfield Weston Scholarship Program in his home on Thursday.

The W. Garfield Weston Foundation provides the Garfield Weston scholarships every three years to four second-year students - one in each of the faculties of arts, music and science, and in the Laurier School of Business and Economics. Selection is partially based on financial need. The recipients are well-rounded individuals with excellent academic records and demonstrated leadership qualities gained in volunteer work, community involvement or athletics.

"The four students represent the best that each faculty or school has to offer and together they form a unique group representing Laurier's diverse strengths," explains Pamela Healey, director of development and alumni relations. "And as a group, they have a number of responsibilities to meet in order to remain Garfield Weston scholars in their third and fourth years of study."

Each recipient receives \$5,000 and the award is renewed annually if the student maintains at least a B+ average. The group also receives \$5,000 each year to cover program costs and must deliver a multi-disciplinary seminar on modern economic, scientific, ethical and/or cultural issues.

The current Garfield Weston scholars are Breslau-native Hannah Snider from the Faculty of Science, Emma Banfield from the Faculty of Music, Julie Lynn Robert from the Faculty of Arts and Dan Yungblut from the School of Business and Economics. Their awards will be recognized at 4:30 p.m. on February 1, at 303 Union Boulevard in Kitchener.