NEWS RELEASE

Wilfrid Laurier University



Contact: Julia Ann Easley
WLU Information Officer
(519) 884-1970 ext. 2070

Jan. 21, 1991 03-1991

Ontario Hydro employee wins three academic awards at Laurier

A 33-year-old employee on leave from Ontario Hydro's Bruce nuclear generating station while he studies at Wilfrid Laurier University in Waterloo will be presented with three academic awards at noon on Wednesday, Jan. 30.

Herman van den Berg will be one of 55 business, economics, and music students to receive scholarships at two awards luncheons on Tuesday, Jan. 29 and Wednesday, Jan. 30.

A fourth-year business student, van den Berg has won the Brent Scholarship for being the highest ranking student in the third year of the program; the Stewart Scholar's Award for having the highest average in four senior economics courses; and the Uniroyal Goodrich Award in Production for obtaining the highest grades in production-related courses in third year.

Van den Berg said the \$2,550 that accompanies the distinctions will help the family budget: his wife, Kathleen, is also a student and together, they have four children.

A graduate of Walkerton District Secondary School in 1975, van den Berg joined Ontario Hydro in 1977 and became a first operator of a thermal nuclear reactor in 1985.

When he completes his studies this spring, he will begin working as a senior financial analyst with the nuclear generation division of Ontario Hydro's offices in Toronto.

- 30 -

Note: Van den Berg can be reached at (519) 747-1631 in Waterloo. A listing of other award winners is attached.

SCHOOL OF BUSINESS & ECONOMICS AWARDS

```
AGINCOURT
     Karen Webert
     Brent Scholarship ($1,600) (519) 747-0182
BROCKVILLE
     Shelley Dunn
     Canadian Industrial Transportation League Scholarship ($500)
      (519) 747-0841
CAMBRIDGE
     Michael van Bodegom
     Ralph Blackmore Award ($400)
      (519) 744-9633
CARLISLE
     Tanya Berezowski
     Brent Scholarship ($800)
      (416) 689-8048
CODRINGTON
     Patrick Brethour
     NCR Canada Ltd. Award ($1,000)
      (416) 884-9358
COLLINGWOOD
     Bill Gourley
     A.C. Nielson Award ($500)
      (519) 884-8912
KITCHENER
     Jeffrey Hebel
     Financial Executives Institute Award ($300)
      (519) 576-5157
LONDON
     Bradley Beattie
     Tamiae Bursary ($250)
      (519) 725-3342
MEAFORD
     Denvy Nanderam
     Tamiae Bursary ($150)
      (613) 725-0696)
MILDMAY
     Jim Beninger
     Brent Scholarship ($800)
     Waterloo-Wellington C.A. Association Award ($100)
      (519) 746-0333
```

```
MISSISSAUGA
     Carol Jackson
     Activity Award: Third Year Business Administration ($250)
      (519) 746-4821
NORTH YORK
     Damon John
     Robert H. Quinn Creative Marketing Award ($1,100)
      (519) 747-3484
OAKVILLE
     Martina Gandeski
     Brent Scholarship ($800)
      (519) 747-4672
OWEN SOUND
     Kristine Nichol
     william K. Caldwell Scholarship ($500)
      (519) 725-5542
SCARBOROUGH
     David Chan
     Brent Scholarship ($800)
     Waterloo-Wellington C.A. Association Award ($100)
      (416) 438-6320, ext. 158
ST. CATHARINES
     Patrick Inneo
     A.C. Nielson Award ($500)
      (519) 725-5204
     Joel Silver
     Eaton Foundation Award ($1,000)
      (519) 884-1736
TORONTO
     Dana Yamamura
     Warner-Lambert Award ($1,000)
      (519) 725-0623
WELLESLEY
     Sherry Erb
     Canadian Life and Health Insurance Inc. Award ($300)
      (519) 747-4662
WALKERTON
     Herman van den Berg
     Brent Scholarship
                                               ($1,600)
     Stewart Scholar's Award
                                                 ($700)
     Uniroyal Goodrich Award in Production
                                                 ($250)
      (519 747-1631
```

MUSIC AWARDS

BRAMPTON

Roger Bergs

The Dorothy V. and Abram Wiebe Scholarship (\$1,200) (519) 746-1497

BRANTFORD

Jennifer Archer

Spae-Naur Performance Award (\$500) (519) 888-0447

ELMIRA

Maria Riedstra

Henry & Mabel Krug Scholarship (\$1,000)

(519) 669-5746

HAMILTON

Suzanne Bakalar ***

Heidt Performance Award (\$750)

(519) 725-0701

Patricia Forbes

Gladys Whitehead Scholarship (\$250)

(519) 725-9464

Janice Lewis

Eric Barton Memorial Bursary (\$100)

(519) 748-2073

MEAFORD

Cameron McKittrick

Neale Hamilton Tayler Memorial Scholarship (\$500)

(519) 746-7271

NIAGARA FALLS

Tom Matic***

Garfield Bender Scholarsip (\$200)

(519) 725-5922

NORTH BAY

Antony Stuart

Spae-Naur Performance Award (\$500)

(519) 747-3515

OSHAWA

Allyson McHardy

Marion Eleda Armbrust Award (\$500)

(519) 747-3602

```
PETERBOROUGH
     Richard C. Windeyer (Please use initial)
     Neale Hamilton Tayler Memorial Scholarship ($500)
      (519) 742-6000
REGINA, SASKATCHEWAN
     Eudora Der
     Brent Scholarship: honors music ($1,600)
      (519) 725-0382
ROSTHERN, SASKATCHEWAN
     Sheralyn Regier
     Frederick P. Schneider Music Award ($333)
      (519) 884-6930
SUDBURY
     John Medina***
     Marion Eleda Armbrust Award ($500)
      (519) 747-4092
     Anna Pregelj
     Earl C. Clark Music Award ($500)
      (519) 746-0845
UXBRIDGE
     Alisa Whittaker***
     Dorothy M. Elliott Music Scholarship for Performance ($500)
      (519) 743-5298
WATERLOO
     Carolyn Bearinger
     Spae-Naur Performance Award ($500)
      (519) 746-6798
WELLAND
     Jean Biller
     Music Therapy Award ($150)
      (519) 741-9130
WEST HILL
     Marie Criscione
     Frederick P. Schneider Music Award ($333)
      (519) 725-0701
```

^{***} Indicates students performing at the Music Awards Concert.