Wilfrid Laurier University

75 UNIVERSITY AVENUE WEST

WATERLOO, ONTARIO, CANADA N2L 3C5

TELEPHONE: (519) 884-1970 EXT 2070

024-1989 Julia Ann Easley March 23, 1989

<u>Laurier holds annual athletic awards banquet</u>

A total of 21 awards, recognizing individual athletes and supporters of the athletic program at Wilfrid Laurier University, were presented at the university's annual athletic banquet at the Waterloo Inn March 23.

One award took even the event's organizer by surprise. Don Smith, assistant athletic director and co-ordinator of the banquet, was presented with the Unsung Hero award.

Smith has been assistant director of athletics for five years and, for the last seven, has coached volleyball. He also teaches four classes and serves on the executive-professional recreation committee.

Rick Pajor, the voice of many sports at Laurier, was presented with the Tuffy Night Award, which recognizes someone outside the university athletic community who has made a significant contribution to the program.

As a student, Pajor supported the men's basketball team in just about every capacity -- statistician, announcer, clock operator and manager.

Since graduating in 1984, he's come back to announce men's

and women's basketball, soccer, hockey and swimming. He has also introduced the head tables at a variety of athletic functions.

Rich Newbrough, director of athletics and head football coach, received the Glenn Carroll Hawk Award. It is presented annually to a coach who demonstrates character-building of his team both on and off the playing field.

Catherine Foulon, a fourth-year business student, was presented with three awards. She was named MVP for women's basketball and received both the women's academic-athletic achievement award and the president's award for a female athlete.

She served as team captain for two years and has been named to the OWIAA all-star team for the years as well.

Veron Stiliadis, who was proclaimed the best defensive lineman in Canada by the Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union in November, was named football lineman of the year and presented with the president's award. The religion and culture student was an OUAA all star for three years and an All Canadian in 1987 and 1988.

Sheri Rowe and Dave Cumber were named the persons contributing most to athletics.

Rowe served as president of the Women's Athletic
Association and ran both the OWIAA swimming championship and
OWIAA basketball championship. As chairman of the OWIAA student
committee, she had a major hand in planning a student workshop at
York University in January.

Cumber, who played on the football team for three seasons, had his biggest moment in the 1988 OUAA play-offs when he

intercepted a pass in the dying moments to secure a Golden Hawk win. The fourth-year student was also president of the Lettermen's Club.

Other award winners include:

Dan Lebold, junior trainer award; Ron Van Moerkerke, academic—athletic achievement award; Danny Deep, men's basketball rookie of the year; Paul DeSantis, men's basketball MVP; Carrie Lanning, women's basketball rookie of the year; Neil Chin, football rookie of the year; Jon Graffi, football MVP; Peter Choma, hockey rookie of the year; Greg Puhalski, hockey MVP.

Ned Mandic, men's soccer rookie of the year; Frank
Anagnostopoulos, men's soccer MVP; Tania Rusynyk, women's soccer
rookie of the year; Nena Orescanin, women's soccer MVP.

Peter Stratford, men's swimming MVP; Anne Ottenbrite, women's swimming MVP; Andrew Reed, men's volleyball rookie of the year; Scott Lee, men's volleyball MVP; Paula Baker, women's volleyball rookie of the year; Cathy Hall, women's volleyball MVP.