

NEWS

75 UNIVERSITY AVENUE WEST

WATERLOO, ONTARIO, CANADA N2L 3C5

TELEPHONE: (519) 884-1970 EXT 2070

008-1988 Richard K. Taylor Jan. 28, 1988 Editors:

Note Milton, Dundas,

Wellesley, Steinbach and

Blumenhof mentions.

5 Laurier students win new president's scholarships

Five students at Wilfrid Laurier University have won the first President's Scholarships, named for Dr. Neale H. Tayler, president of the university from 1978 to 1982, and a faculty member since 1962.

An endowment was established following Tayler's death in 1986, to provide three annual \$1,000 awards for undergraduate students (in arts and science, music, and business and economics) and one of \$1,500 for graduate students.

The scholarships are to be awarded on the basis of student academic performance, combined with substantial and effective participation in student life.

The winners:

Karen Bird of Dundas, who is in her fourth year of an honors political science program, and who will also complete the requirements for an English major this year;

Emily Fehr of Blumenhof, Sask., and Kim Bestvater of Steinbach, Man., piano performance majors, were co-winners for music;

Kevin Foley of Milton, a fourth-year student in the school of business and economics, who has acted as a consultant with the campus Small Business Consulting Service; and

Rev. Dieter Kays of Wellesley, Ont., who is a member of the first class in the doctoral program in social work. He has been executive director of Lutherwood, a treatment centre for young people and families, since 1977.