## SCHREIBER

## REBEKAHS PLAN CHRISTMAS PARTY

The Charter was draped, at the regular Ruby Rebekah meeting, in tribute to the late Mrs. Millie McColeman and a donation made to the Heart Foundation in her memory.

Fifteen year Veteran's jewels were presented to Mrs. Mary Legault and Mrs. Marion Simon by Mrs. Mavis Slater who had been Noble Grand when they

joined the Lodge.

Mrs. Norma Fummerton was presented, by Mrs. Christine Morris, with an onyx and marcasite ring, bearing the Lodge insignia, instead of second Past Noble Grand jewell, to which she is entitled.

Others eligible for the fifteen year jewell but living elsewhere are Mrs. Jean Plummer, Duncan, B.C. Mrs. Aggie Sinkins, Toronto; Mrs. Bella Gerow, Fort William; and Mrs. Mildred Welsh, Terrace Bay.

A donation was made to the East Thunder Bay T.B.

Christmas Seal Fund.

Mrs. Jean Fisher reported the CP and T candy sale

in Terrace Bay had been most successful.

Mrs. Beth Macadam was elected vice grand, and Mrs. Winnie Clemens, P.N.G., elected recording secretary.

Mrs. Victoria Winters reported the sale of tickets

on a draw is going well.

The sick and visiting convener noted that Bill Jones, an active member of the CP and T committee is in Port Arthur General Hospital and Mrs. Jessie Macadam in Terrace Bay Hospital.

The Christmas Party was planned for December 10th, with potluck supper. The meat will be supplied but members are asked to bring other food, samples of Christmas cakes, and a gift for exchange, valued at not less than \$1.00 nor more than \$2.00.

The committee in charge will be Mesdames Norma Fummerton, F. Fisher, B. Macadam, V. Winters, E. Harness, W. Clemens, and C. Morris.

Mrs. Morris, noble grand, and Mrs. Mary Land It, PNG, as vice grand presided for the meeting.

Following the meeting a penny sale was run by Mrs. Ileene Williamson and Mrs. Shiela Bosley and lunch served by Mrs. Jessie McCanna's committee.

Mr. and Mrs. Ernold Lorenger, with Debbie, Bruce, Louis and Glen, of Kenora, visited Mr. and Mrs. Jack Richardson, Mr. and Mrs. Ron McBride and Mrs. Harriet McBride last week.

## GEORGE BIRCH HONORED AT STAG

George Birch, who makes his last run with the CPR on December first, coming in on The Canadian, was given a surprise stag by friends on Tuesday evening. George was met when he came in and, on a pretext, still in his working clothes, taken to the curling rink where the crowd had gathered.

On behalf of the others Austin Cosgrove, a lifelong friend, presented a purse with their good wishes.

Speeches were numerous and informal, all of them, after the formal congratulations, recalling some exploit of George's, the accepted town wag and prankster.

Jim Deleo spoke for another group and promised George a free hair cut next time he came to his shop. Games were played but for the most part it was a time for reminiscing. The party was arranged by Austin Cosgrove, Michael Cosgrove, and Jack Friesen.

## CREDIT UNION ANNUAL MEETING

F.V. Harness presided for the 19th annual meeting of the Schreiber CPR Employees' Credit Union, attended by gratifyingly large membership.

The Board of Directors' report, with following recommendations, was adopted: that 5% dividend be paid on shares; that a 10% interest rebate be given all borrowers in good standing; that 20% on net profit be placed in the Guarantee Fund; that any balance be placed in undivided earnings to be used at the discretion of the directors.

It was also noted that loans have increased by more than \$16,000.00 since 1968 and shares have increased \$12,500.00 during the year.

A successful year was indicated with assets at the end of the fiscal year amounting to \$141,608.00 and an increase in membership, which is now at 265.

The Credit committee report showed a record number of loans (191) were approved in the amount of \$189,044.70.

Gerald Nicol, G.P. Gordon, J.M. Solobodian, were elected for three year terms, and R.B. Simon, for two year term, to the Board of Directors.

Present members are C.M. Baillie, W.T. Wallace, F.V. Harness, W.G. Wilson and W.G. Ferow.

E. Niemi was elected to the Credit Committee for three year term, and H. Spikula, for a two year term, with W.G. Furlonger, the continuing member. continued page 14 .....