

VOL 11, NO 20

SERVING THE DISTRICT

MAY 16, 1968

GEORGE WARDROPE NOMINATED BY P. C.'S



LARGE ATTENDANCE AT CURLING WIND-UP

Victory smile by Mr. and Mrs. George Wardrope

The auditorium of Nipigon Public School was filled on Sunday evening when Progressive Conservative delegates from towns in the new Riding of Thunder Bay met to choose a candidate to represent them in the forth coming Federal election. George Wardrope former member of the Provincial Parliament was chosen by acclamation and received a standing ovation. On the platform during the meeting, which was conducted by S. Hodgkiss, president of the Progressive Conservative Association of Thunder Bay Riding, were C. Rogers of Port Arthur and Dr. Lionel Hastings of Fort William, candidates from their constituencies, J. Jessiman of Fort William, M.P.P., J. Phillips of Schreiber, honorary member. At an afternoon meeting of the Association, Murray lardine of Dryden was elected as the new President, with G. Caccamo of Schreiber as 1st Vice President, (Cont'd on page 5)



Club Champions-left to r: Peggy Wellings, Mary Dashkewytch, Pauline Phillips and Ann Packalen

The Terrace Bay Curling Club held their twentyfirst annual wind-up at the Moose Hall, with a dinner and dance. Master of Ceremonies for the occasion was Jack Caccamo, President-elect for the 1968-69 Men's Curling Club.

Seated at the head table were Mrs. Jack Caccamo, Reeve and Mrs. Fd. Cavanaugh; Benny Hayes, Past President; Mr. and Mrs. I. Ferrier, Mill Manager; Punch McDougal and Mrs. McDougal; Ray Cousineau, representing the North Western Curlers and Mrs. Cousineau; Burton Phillips, representing the Schreiber Club, and Mrs. Phillips; Bill Cavanaugh, representing Laskin's, and Mrs. Cavanaugh; Dave Courtemanche, Recreation Director, and Mrs. Courtemanche; Carl LeBlanc from Spadoni's and Mrs. LeBlanc; (Cont'd on page 5)