SAFETY FILMS SHOWN AT SCHREIBER SCHOOLS

Fred J. Cronkite, accident prevention organizer for Northwestern Ontario, with Ontario Department of Transport, showed safety films in Schreiber separate and public schools.

Mr. Cronkite was accompanied by Police Chief Keith Scott who is presently conducting a safety campaign among grade school children.

Department of lands and for-

ests, carrying out their annual spring meetings, the purpose of which is to make children fire conscious, showed films in the separate school May 30.

Cnief Ranger Ben Lapenskie addressed the students and Ken Bowlier was projectionist The tims will also he shown in the public school, the first date there having to be cancelled by a fire outbreak.

SHIELDS PRESENTED TO TOP ATHLETES

Top athletes of Schreiber High School were honored May 26 at the school's first annual awards night. Previously athletic presentations took place at graduation exercises.

Lenore Campbell and Alex Gauthier were presented with shields and individual trophies as the two outstanding athletes in the school. Student council trophy went to Keith Searles as junior boys champion, while Mary Speziale, junior girls champion, was awarded the athletic association trophy.

Senior girls champion Roxanne Hill took the Charles Cox trophy and Dominic Pellegrino, senior boys champion, the C. D. Howe trophy.

Voted the most valuable players by their senior basketball teammates, Muriel Nesbitt and Jody Davis were awarded shields and crests.

Bars for interscholastric teams were presented to representative members as follows.

Track and field, Keith

Searles and Mary Speziale: cheerleader, Sharon Riley: senior football, T. McParland; junior football, Larry Davis; senior boys volleyball, Paddy Spadoni; senior girls volleyball, Roxanne Hill; junior girls volleyball, Cory Eaton; senior girls basketball: Muriel Nesbitt: Jr. girls basketball: Susan Bromley; Senior boys basketball, Alex Gauthier; junior boys basketball. Stanley Spadoni; curling, Ryan LeBlanc; badminton, Terry Condie; gymnastics, Pavalo Pellagrino; student games official, Dan MacDonald.

On behalf of 12 fellow students, Tom McGrath accepted crests for sportsmanship, leadership and citizenship.

Canuck House was awarded the house league trophy, presented to leaders B. Speziale, B. Arnold, W. Weaver and L. Gauthier.

Guest speaker J. D. Bromley, CPR superintendent spoke on the importance of sports participation. Dominic Pellagrino, president of the house league council, served as chairman.

HOME & SCHOOL ASSOC. DEFERS ELECTION:TION

The Schreiber high school Home and School Association met May 29 with Mrs. R. B. Spadoni presiding. It was decided to wait until September to elect new officers.

Mrs. Ross Hill's financial statement showed that the fund must be augmented to provide the annual scholarship. It was decided to hold a penny auction early in September.

Members agreed to the students' request to serve lunch at their June prom if students collected the lunch.

A workshop, arranged by Mrs. Hill, proved most interesting, when opinions of the various groups were presented on the following topics: importance of religious instruction in secondary schools; the part the father plays in the success or failure of a student; the effect of tension or stress on teacher and pupil; the role which can be played by the home and school association in secondary schools.



Public School winners - L. to R. Leonard Winters, Robert Le-Blanc, Debra Seidel, Wm. Halonan - behind - principal H.M. Ermel. Photos by Inez McCuaig

PRIZES AWARDED IN COLORING CONTEST

In the Elmer coloring contest for up to grades 4 in both the public and separate schools, the first prizes were awarded by the Boards—books in the public school and cash in the separate school. The other three prizes were donated by Spadoni Bros., Caccamo's Groceteria, J.M.Cebrario Hardware, Costa's Foodateria and Chapples.

Public school winners were Angelika Walter,
Debra Seidel, Vicky Strasser and Barbara Glad.
Gr.2 - Robt.LeBlanc, Leslie Smith, Vicky Krause,
Robt.Noonan. Gr.3, Leonard Winters, Hans Prinselaar, Werner Wirtz, Peter Prinselaar. Gr.4 - Wm.
John Halonen, Gordon Williamson, Jayne Davis,
Rose Ann Jung.

Separate School - Kindergarten, Jimmy Wilson, Marina Moore, Anita Power, Anna Racioppi. Gr. 1, Nita Ross, Tommy Ray, Cathy Mulligan, Shirley Ross. Gr.2, Anna Deleo, Mike Mulligan, Shelby Kirkpatrick, Debbie Dimmery. Gr.3, Linda Ray, Karen Lamoureux, Michelle Stortini, Mary-Lynn O'Brien. Gr.4 - Ria Figliomeni, Terri Lee Seaver, Patricia McGrath, Carol Ferland.

The awards were presented by Constable Keith Scott and the judging done by the Schreiber Art Club. The pupils were entranced when Chief Scott announced that a picture done by their teacher to encourage them, was included by mistake with the entries and judged such a poor effort that he was awarding a special prize to Miss Sandy Dennison—and produced a large purple heart on an elaborate scroll.