

Fraser Muldrew, centre, accepts Riley Trophy from Alvin Slater with Alec Gordon holding individual trophies. The Riley Trophy may be the oldest in Curling in the entire district. It has been in competition since 1894. Missing from Muldrew rink are John Slobodian and Pete Speziale.

CURLING PRIZES PRESENTED AT CABARET

The men's and women's cuirling clubs held a joint cabaret party in the town hall to end the season.

Alvin Slater, the M.C., presented trophies as follows:-

The Thompson Trophy (Men's Championship) to Burton Phillips, Bill Weaver, Ralph Hewson and Bill Baynes. Second, the Riley Trophy to Fraser Muldrew John Slobodian, Pete Speziale and Alec Gordon. Men's Third (Club Trophy) to Ron Piche, Lawrence Guillet, Fred McColeman and a spare. The Caccamo Trophy for mixed curling to Frankie Caccamo, Ralph Hewson, Don Tremblay and Sheila MacDonald. The Costa Trophy to Ron Piche, Esther Neimi, Geoff Birch and Edna Cocks. The Club Trophy to Fraser Muldrew, Tookie Herlihy, Florence Fisher and Bill Hawke. The Seagrim Trophy to Albina Welbourne, Eirene Harness, Dot Kenney and Lou Karns. The Spadoni Trophy to Frankie Caccamo, Em. Paradis, Flo Fisher and Ruth Collinson. The Day Knock-Out to Albina Welbourne, Lena Holmes, Dot Kinney and Lou Kearns. The Terrace Bay News Trophy to Barbara Halonen, Nellie Gray, Anita Bowlier and Edna Cocks. The Spadoni Trophy to Albina Welbourne, Kati Frommann, Fran Nesbitt and Connie Gauthier.

Len Crockford, president of the Terrace Bay Curling Club and Mrs. Crockford, were guests at the party.

On behalf of the ladies club Mrs. Anita Bowlier, their treasurer, presented a cheque for \$400 to Burton Phillips, president of the men's club. Earlier in the season the ladies had given \$100 to the men to assist in running the rink.

Mrs.Edward Miller and son Dwayne of Fort William are spending a month with Mrs.Miller's parents, Mr.and Mrs.Steve Petrushack.

Karl Norman of Vancouver was here this week in connection with arrangements for the Overture Concert Series.



Jean Tremblay left, presents trophies to winning team in Ladies Bowling League--Liz Prescott, Kay Furyk, Marya Johnston. Missing Gloria Mullins.

WIND-UP BANQUET HELD BY LADY BOWLERS

Mrs.J.D.Bryson and Mrs.Tom Bryant, Honorary Members, were pre-sented with corsages at the wind-up banquet of the Schreiber Ladies Bowling League held in the Guild Hall. Mrs.Ernie O'Connor, another honorary member now residing in Fort William, had one sent to her to mark the occasion.

The trophy for high team was pre sented to Liz Prescott and her team by president Jean Tremblay.

Other awards and prizes were presented as follows:- High team in the roll-offs, Jean Tremblay, Irene Bolan Doris Krause and Gina Smith. Low team for the year, Lil Parent, Tookie Herlihy, Marion Prescotte, Yola Cebrario (who were also low team in the roll-offs.

Yearly awards for high average went to Joan Costall (199), high triple to Ida Krause (798), low score, Marion Eickmeier (37) and High Single to Ida Krause (347). High singles for the various months were Mary Martinson, October 314, Jean Tremblay, November 325, Ida Krause, December 297, Ida Krause January 347, Jean Tremblay, Feb. 286. Perfect attendance prizes went to Etta Gray, Myra Holmes, Marlene Pitkanen, Millie Glad, Kay Furyk, Jean Tremblay, Lil Parent and Gisela Walters. Special awards were made to Annie West, Blanche Garlick and Marg. Gerow.

There was no election of officers since the future of the league is uncertain. Marathon has suggested a series of Sunday games and this will be discussed again.

Marya Johnston will be hostess for a party on May 7th in her home.

Mrs. Joe Cosgrove of Montreal is the guest of her sister Mrs. Ted Wilson, also visiting other relations.

The Port Arthur and District Health Unit was here on Wednesday holding a children's inoculation clinic.

Mr. and Mrs. Mark Doig of Chapleau are visiting their son Peter and family and friends in town.

Mrs. Dora Weaver, D.D.P. of the Rebekahs will convene the Spring Tea on April 30 with homemade candy and baking as attractions.