- The Improvement District Budget has been prepared and gone to Toronto for approval, and subject to this approval the following will be the tax rate for the coming 12-month period:

Public School Supporters Residential 58.54 mills 58.17 mills 61.46 mills

Separate School Supporters Residential 60.53 mills 63.99 mills 67.29 mills

One reason for the Separate School's higher rate this year is that they went into last year with a \$5000.00 surplus. This year their surplus is \$500.00, and there has been an increase in salaries. Provincial Grants are up slightly for both these schools. The High School rate, common to both Separate School and Public School supporters is:

1957 - 7.48 mills, will be a second of the s

The reduction here is due to increased Provincial Grants.

Tenders are out for the curbing on Kenogami Ave., Lakeview Drive, and
Fort Gary Road. Application has been made for a 50% grant for paving these
streets. It is expected this application will be granted with the possible
exception of Fort Gary Road. The 1957 work programme on the streets is now
complete. Maintenance work towards paving will be done this year on all
crescents in Terrace Bay. Grants are not available for these streets.

HON. JAMES N. ALLAN NEW TREASURER, 3 NEW MEMBERS BROUGHT IN CABINET

Cabinet changes were effected by Premier Leslie M. Frost on Thursday, April 24th, bringing in three new members in the Executive Council and giving new portfolios to three other members of the Cabinet.

Hon. James N. Allan has become Provincial Treasurer, replacing Fremier Frost himself who had re-assumed the post last winter when Hon. Dana Porter left the Ontario Government to become Chief Justice of the Ontario Appeal Court.

The dual duties of Highways and Trans- M port Minister held by Mr. Allan have been separated. Succeeding him as Minister of Highways is Hon. Frederick M. Cass, M.P.P. b for Grenville-Dundas. The new Minister of Transport is Hon. Matthew B. Dymond, who was previously Minister of Reform Institutions.

The new Minister of Reform Institutions is Hon. T. Ray Connell who had been Minister without Portfolio and 2nd Vice-Chairman of Hydro.

Two new Ministers without Fortfolio have been appointed. One is Hon. Robert W. Maccaulay, M.P.P. for Riverdale, who will be replacing Mr. Connell as 2nd Vice-Chairman of Hydro. The other Hon. John Yaremko,

(cont'd next col.)

New Cabinet Members (cont'd):

M.P.P. for Bellwoods.

The Premier also announced that Minister without Portfolio Harold R. Scott has resigned from the Cabinet.

E susibul - E sient tealusel

Lankees 4 - Liners 4

Tankees 5 - Indians 0

solution. De

net out and have some fun.

missis sails

Besides the above Cabinet appointments and changes, Fremier Frost announced the appointment of Leeds M.P.P. James A.C. Auld to the post of Vice-Chairman of the Ontario-St.

Lawrence Development Commission.

The Premier has also appointed Frow. Treas.
Allan to the post of chairman of the Treasury
Board. New members of the Treasury Board are
Attorney-General A. Kelso Roberts and new
Minister without Portfolio R.W. Macaulay.

The new members of the Cabinet, with the exception of Mr. Maccaulay, were sworn in before Lieutenant-Governor John Keiller Mackay on Monday, April 28th.

NEW DORMITORY SNACK BAR HOURS

Monday to Friday: 9:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. 2:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. 6:00 p.m. to 12:30 a.m.

Saturday & Sunday:9:00 p.m. to 12:30 p.m.