N/C elects new chief

by Mark McEachern

NEW CREDIT - The Mississaugas of New Credit held elections last Saturday for band council positions and gave the leadership as Chief of that council to Carolyn King.

King, 48, was chosen as the new Chief of N/C, upsetting incumbent chief Larry Sault and a third chief candidate Frank LaForme, by a wide margin.

King received 136 votes compared to 79 for Sault and 50 for LaForme. A little more than 1,000 people were eligible to vote in the election.

"I was a little nervous coming here tonight, but I did feel that I had a good chance to win", said King, who has previously worked as the council's community development co-ordinator. "I am very overwhelmed from all the support that I have received and right now I feel very ecstatic."

King said that one of her first priority as N/C chief will be to open up the lines of communication with residents and reassure them that their voices will be heard.

"I went door-to-door visiting the community and most people that I talked to wanted change and felt that their needs were not being met here", she said.

Chief Sault was the first to extend his personal congratulations to King following the final ballots.

"Thank you to everyone who voted for me and has supported

... Continued on page 2

New Credit elects new chief

Continued from front page



Carolyn King was elected as New Credit Chief last Saturday night, defeating incumbent chief Larry Sault and Frank LaForme

me throughout the years and I ask that you give Carolyn this same support", said Sault.



Kelly King and Kyle Sault cast their votes in New Credit's Band Council elections last Saturday afternoon.

11 candidates were up for the seven positions available as councillors and incumbent Daniel Laforme led the way with 166 votes. Randy Sault was the runner-up with 165 votes followed by newcomer Stacey Laforme with 160. The rest of the council was made up of incumbents Gina Sault (128 votes), Leslie King (126 votes), Gordon Laforme (122 votes) and Sylvia Sault (108 votes).

Members of the band council are elected to serve two-year terms in their respective positions.