

Photos by Sarah Lewis

Left: David Thornley and Peter Rogers accept their award for Special Achievement; Below: Michael Bowman receives his "Administrator of the Year" award



represented its members working with People for Education, Ontario English Catholic Teachers Association (OECTA), the National Reading Summit, the International Education Summit and the Ontario Education Research Symposium. Several Council members had "media moments"—Diana Maliszewski and Paul Kay represented school libraries on TVO's *Future of Reading* program and Lisa Dempster was interviewed by CTV's Carlene Bradford.

Council also took on a review of our roles with a goal to create greater clarity and accessibility to membership. After creation of a new application process, our new web master, Steven Nagy, helped us greatly in improving our online communications, for which Council is extremely grateful. Thanks also to our Teaching-Librarian Editor, Diana Maliszewski for her boundless energy in producing 3 successful magazine issues and aligning web and print publication dates. A realignment of roles has shifted the Secretary role to Lisa Dempster, Metro Toronto Councillor and the Treasurer role to the Past President portfolio to ensure continuity and "institutional memory" on Council. Special thanks to OLA Super Conference Co-Ordinators: Ann Perez, TDSB, and Kristin Hoffmann, University of Western Ontario (UWO) and to OSLA Planners: Isabelle Hobbs and Nancy Dalrymple for their work in creating another successful Super Conference.

Finally, congratulations to our OSLA Award Recipients: **Special Achievement**: Peter Rogers (Chairman of the Board), Knowledge Ontario and David Thornley (Executive Director), Knowledge Ontario; **Administrator of the Year**: Michael Bowman, Principal at Sir John A. Macdonald Public School, Durham District School Board; **Teacher-Librarian of the Year**: Paula McNamara, Simcoe County District School Board. Our Award Ceremony gives us the opportunity to acknowledge individuals as catalysts for collaboration, cooperation, creating community engagement for the common good, who cultivate connectivity, collegiality, and conversations. "Collaboration captures creativity, it challenges us to be greater than the sum of our constituent parts." It has been an amazing opportunity to serve OSLA as President; thank you to Council for all of their work, which has made this year's achievements possible.



The 2011
OSLA Council

Photo by Shelagh Paterson

2011 OSLA Council

Roger Nevin President Kawartha Pine Ridge DSB roger_nevin@kprdsb.ca

Elizabeth Gordon Vice President Kawartha Pine Ridge DSB elizabeth_gordon@kprdsb.ca

Ruth Hall Past President & Treasurer Toronto DSB hallruth@gmail.com

Lindsay Brennan DSB of Niagara lindsay.brennan@dsbn.edu.on.ca

> Colette Denomme Thames Valley DSB co.denomme@tvdsb.on.ca

Elizabeth MacDonald Limestone District School Board

> Lisa Dempster Toronto DSB lisa.dempster@tdsb.on.ca

June Rysinski Thunder Bay Catholic DSB jrysinsk@tbcdsb.on.ca

Cheryl White Kawartha Pine Ridge DSB cheryl_white@kprdsb.ca

Diana Maliszewski Teaching Librarian Editor Toronto DSB TingLeditor@gmail.com

> Steve Nagy OSLA Website Editor Waterloo Region DSB