

Acton Figure Skating Club hosts annual awards ceremony

The Acton Skating Club hosted its annual awards ceremony on Saturday to honour members who had great seasons. The award recipients included:

- Emma Hollings received the Ron Barker Sportsmanship award.
- Lindsay Christopher received the Kim Petty Skate Canada Gold Level Award for completing her Gold Level Dances
- James Robart-Morgan received Kevin Parker STARSkate Trillium Award for advancing to the Trillium Championships. James won 1st place at the Trillium Championships in the Junior Bronze dance category with his partner Hannah Polley of the Guelph Figure Skating Club.
- Sydney Hayward received the Program Assistant of the Year Award.
- Manon Bourgeois won the award for STARSkate Junior of the Year.

- Mia MacNair and Paige Sharpe received the STARSkate 1 of the Year Award
- James Robart-Morgan received the STARSkate 2 of the Year Award
- Lindsay Christopher received the STARSkate 3 of the Year Award

Some awards were handed out at our annual Carnival Dress rehearsal night. They were:

Canskater of the Year: This award is given to the canskater on each session who passed the most can skate levels in one year. This year's winners are: Ethan Rutherford, Ashlyn Power and MacKenzie Horack

Pre-canskater of the Year: This award is given to the Pre-canskater on each session who has advanced the most in their skating abilities. This year's winners are: Kailash Maybury and Abby Blashuk, Amyra Roberts, Evan Simons

and Liam Murphy

Janet Marshall Volunteer Award: This year the recipient of the Janet Marshal Memorial Award is Tammy Burton for her long time dedication and contribution to the Acton Skating Club.

Each year the coaches nominate skaters from each session who exhibit something a little above and beyond the other skaters. The session award winner are not only all round good skaters, but also someone who exhibits great sportsmanship and an all round passion for the sport of skating. Our STARSkate award recipients included:

STARSkate Juniors -Manon Bourgeois

STARSkate 1 - Mia MacNair and Paige Sharpe

STARSkate 2 - James Robart-Morgan

STARSkate 3 - Lindsay Christopher



Emma Hollings



Sydney Hayward







Lindsay Christopher



Mia MacNair / Paige Sharp