## HILLIER WOMEN'S INSTITUTE THE STORY OF THE SMALL TABLE IN THE HALL

**January 1923** - It was moved by Mrs. Sherwin and seconded by Mrs. Roy Wight that we get Mr. Tom Smith to build a small table for the hall. Carried

Mrs. Harry Burris Mrs. Doug McFaul Mrs. Alex Rattray Miss Hilda Burris Miss Elsie Collins Mrs. Ness Palmer Mrs. Phil Hubbs Mrs. Charles Cassidy Mrs. Dave Baverstock Mrs. Adam Llovd Mrs. Fletcher Sherwin Mrs. Crandall Mrs. Tom Smith Mrs. Les Jones Mrs. Earl Palmer Miss Olive Palmer Miss Ruby Alexander Miss Maggie Holmes Mrs. Stewart Wood Mrs. McGarvey Mrs. Fred Way

Mrs. Earl Burris Mrs. Clifton Ellis Mrs. Svd Palmer Miss Irene Burris Mrs. Lyle Leavens Miss Mabel Hubbs Mrs. Will Foster (Pres.) Mrs. David Stein Miss Grace Baverstock Miss Debbie Young Mrs. Charlie Benway Mrs. Sperry Fritz Mrs. Herman Hegadorn Mrs. Roy Wight Mrs. Ern Terry Mrs. Will Thompson Miss Hazel V. Fox Mrs. Marsh Way Mrs. Floyd Way Miss Thelma Way

**March 1923** - It was moved by Miss Debbie Young and seconded by Mrs. Crandall that the secretary pay Mr. Tom Smith the sum of two dollars (\$2.00) for making the table. Carried

President - Miriam Foster Secretary - Annie Jones **April 4, 1996** - It was moved by Peggy Burris and seconded by Grace Clement that Hillier W. I. pay for repairing and refinishing the small table. Carried

Mary Taylor Elsie McCartney Carol Quinn Louise Humphrey Peggy Burris Grace Clement Violet Coghlan Betty Alyea Lorena Best Janet Lunn Reta Gage Laura Haight Joyce Brown Marilyn Rennie Ethel Wannamaker Mary Barham Ruth Crawford (Pres.) Phyllis Wight Marjorie Darling Norma Morrison Lois Conley Jean Alexander Mabel Wright Doris Wright Alice Dollis Jean Spencer Bernadette McCabe Rebecca MacKellar

November 21, 1996 - It was moved by Marjorie Darling and seconded by Louise Humphrey that cards of thanks be sent to those responsible for the restoration of the small table donated to the hall by Hillier W. I. of 1923: a card to Grace and Bill Clement for the donation of the brass plaque on the table which reads "Presented by Hillier W. I. 1923; Restored by Hillier W. I. 1996"; a card be sent to Peggy and Elwood Burris for donating the cost of the table restoration and preparing the framed historical information. Carried.

> President - Ruth Crawford Secretary - Phyllis Wight

TABLE RESTORATION TO COMMEMORATE 100 YEARS OF WOMEN'S INSTITUTES IN ONTARIO 1996 - 97