By the 1870's and 80's there were many flourishing Sunday Schools in Ameliasburg, held in churches and school houses dotted throughout the township. In the late 1880's they banded together to form the Ameliasburg Sunday School Association. They appointed a president and secretary and heard reports from the various Sunday Schools in the township.

In 1897 the president was William Anderson and the secretary James Benson. It was their duty and responsibility to visit each of the Sunday Schools during the year. Mr. Anderson purchased a book, now in the possession of Miss Audra Brickman, in which to record these visits. Inside the cover he has written: "This book was purchased by Wm. Anderson on the 22 June 1897 at Belleville for the purpose of recording his visits to the various Sunday Schools in the Township of Ameliasburg and also of noting the names of the officers - such as superintendent and teachers, secretary, treasurer and librarian - and the efficiency and generally the manner the school is taught and other things bearing on the schools." He records that in 1897 there were 13 Sunday Schools in the Township. They were: Union (later known as Mountain View), Salem, Roblins Mills, Bushes (Victoria), Centre, Rednersville, Rossmore, Dempseys (Albury), Adams' School House, Consecon, Young's School House, Carrying Place and Massassaga. He visited all 13 of them in 1897 and recorded the date of his visit, officers, teachers, number of classes, number of pupils, supplies, yearly receipts and comments on the efficiency of each school. He also mentions a visit to Bushes in 1896.

In 1898 and 1899 this practice was continued by the new township president, James E. Glenn and secretary, James Benson. These two gentlemen continued in office for several years. In this same book they have recorded their visits to the 13 Sunday Schools in 1898, 1899, and to a few in 1900 and 1902. In the early 1900's a Sunday School was started at Huffs Island, making 14 in the Township.

The Sunday Schools in those days had a very large enrolment and good attendance. Youngs had 54 pupils in 1897, Carrying Place 60, Roblins' Mills 71, Centre 60, Consecon 90. Some were getting their supplies from William Briggs Publishing Company and some from David Cooks.

They were held in the different churches. At the earlier conventions the president gave a report on his visits to the Sunday Schools of the Township, and delegates from each school reported on their membership, attendance, etc. Later presidents did not make these yearly visits. However in 1915 this practice was still followed; president W.W. Ward at the Convention held in Victoria Church spoke of his visits, believed the schools were conducted by a zealous and efficient band of superintendents and teachers.

The Conventions usually consisted of both an afternoon and evening session with supper being provided by the hostess group. The Ontario Religious Education Council often supplied a speaker. He usually stayed over-night at one of the homes, and would have to be delivered on to another Township for their Convention arranged, because of the speaker, for the following day.

Mr. James E. Glenn was secretary- treasurer of the Ameliasburg Sunday School Association for 20 years from 1914 to 1934. Miss Audra Brickman was secretary from 1934 to 1954. Some of the presidents down through the years were: W.W. Ward 1914-15, F.C. Lent in 1916-17, W.J. Hall 1918-19, Claude Wannamaker 1920-21, Lorne Brickman 1922-23, Arthur Parliament 1934-35, Luther Alyea 1936-37, Earl Walt 1938-39, Bernard Redner 1940-43, W.W. Ward 1944-45, Donald Spencer 1946-47, Mrs. Cecil Blakely 1948-49, Morley Dempsey 1950-51, John Wannamaker 1952-53, and Seymour Hamilton was elected president for 1954. But attendance and interest were waning and the 1953 Convention was the last one held.

Some of the churches where the Township Sunday School Conventions were held were: Albury in 1914, Victoria - 1915, Centre - 1916, Ameliasburg - 1917, Salem - 1919, Mountain View - 1920, Rednersville - 1921, Consecon in 1934, Victoria - 1935, Mountain View - 1936, Centre in 1937, Massassaga in 1937 when the Association celebrated its 50th Anniversary, Ameliasburg in 1939, Rednersville - 1940, Consecon - 1941. Victoria - 1942, Albury - 1943, Mountain View in 1944, Centre - 1945, Ameliasburg - 1943, Centre - 1947, Consecon - 1948, Victoria - 1949, Albury - 1950, Massassaga - 1951, Ameliasburg - 1952, and the 65th and last at Salem in 1953.