

School bus Chapman to Tweed, 1921
lst Row: Janet Clare; John Blakely; Edith Clare;Margaret
Elliott.
2nd Row: Luella Blakely; Myrtle
Irvin; Bernice Blakely.

Farnsworth School, S.S.3, joined consolidation in 1922, and in 1933 the Trustees of S.S.14, Tufts', voted to close the school for a five year trial period, the attendance being very small. All pupils came to Tweed to school. S.S.14 never did re-open.

Prior to 1938 little progress was made in Ontario toward the amalgamation of small school sections, but in that year 14 large units known as Township School Areas were formed. As early as February of 1866 Dr. Egerton Ryerson had addressed a meeting in Belleville on the benefits of forming such Township School Areas, but the meeting was not impressed, and it was 1952 before the first Township School Area was formed in Hungerford. In that year U.S.11, Lime Lake, and S.S.30 Tyendinaga were united. S.S.30 had been closed about 1942, but the Board remained active until the time of union. This area was called Hungerford & Tyendinaga Township School Area #1.

Hungerford Township School Area #2 was formed January 1, 1960, and included S.S. Nos. 4-6-7-13-14-16-20-21 and 22. Of these, the schoolhouse in S.S.4 had been destroyed by fire about 1946 and not rebuilt; S.S.14 had been closed in 1933; S.S.20 had been closed before 1940, and S.S.21 had been closed in 1949. The Boards of all these schools remained active until joined in H.T.S.A.#2. Members of the new Board included Leon Clement, Chairman; Gerald Johnston; Oliver Forsyth; Mack Rush; Louis Rivers, Sr., with Mrs. Laurence (Mary) LeSage as Secretary-Treasurer. S.S.7 was closed in 1960.

Hungerford Township School Areas #3 and #4 were formed January 1, 1961.