

Over 500 combined years of community service

The Russell District Women's Institute honoured 10 members who have more than 50 years of membership and service at its annual meeting, held May 27 in Navan. Front row, from left, are Eva Heney, Mildred Wall, Leila Twiname and Florence McCaffrey. In back are Catherine Minogue, Betty Deavy, and Joyce MacGregor, on behalf of her mother, Margaret Burton, and Irene Paul. Missing from photo is Kay Black. W.I. members had presented a framed certificate earlier to Georgina (Georgie) Gamble, who joined the W.I. in 1936. Georgie passed away on May 28, 2002.

Russell well represented at District W.I.

By Martha Tanner

Villager Editor

The Russell District Women's Institute held its annual meeting on May 27 at St. Mary's Anglican Church in Navan.

Highlights of the meeting were the presentation of members of the 2002-2003 board of directors, the recognition of members with 50 years or more of service, the memorial service for those members who had died during the past year, and an

address by guest speaker, Christine Reaburn, past provincial area president.

Reaburn spoke on this year's theme, Focus High for W.I., and stressed the need to recruit new members and retain members through current, cutting edge programming. She also encouraged women to lobby for change.

"In the past, Women's Institute has been a powerful force in lobbying on behalf of women," she said. "For

example, how do you feel about the decision to move the cardiac unit from CHEO to Toronto? Think of all the wonderful things you can get your teeth into and lobby.

"Women's Institute offers unlimited opportunities for personal growth through education and travel, and a sense of commitment to our communities.

"I commend you as you continue to provide educational programs and please, don't forget to have

fun."

The board of directors for the 2002 - 2003 season includes past president Helen Burns, of the Navan W.I., president Ina Henry of the Russell Village W.I., first vice-president Joyce MacGregor, of the North Russell W.I., second vicepresident June MacMillan, Cumberland W.I., secretary Cathy Faubert of the Russell Village W.I., and treasurer Mary Inglis, Russell Village W.I.

