Prescott, Russell WI districts meet

Submitted by Frankie Higginson

About 120 members and guests were given a warm welcome to the first joint annual meeting of the Prescott and Russell Women's Institute Districts, held which was at Cumberland, Ontario May 26 at 3 p.m.

Joyce MacGregor and Frankie Higginson, District Presidents, shared the duties of chairing the meeting, which was taped to help the two secretary-treasurers, Shirley Otto and Ruby Proudfoot. The motto was, "Celebrate the Past, Challenge the Future".

A memorial service, conducted by Ethelda Boa and Helen Burns, honoured 13 members who have died in the last year, including Mary MacCaskill of Hillview, Kathleen Connors of Lookout Bay, Hazel MacGillivray and Alie Barton of the former Everready branch.

During our separate business meeting, Helen Cameron volunteered to head a committee, with the District Directors from each branch, to plan a district float in the Vankleek Hill fair parade in August.

Branches have been invited to put displays at the Vankleek Hill Community Centre for the Bicentennial Celebrations in Vankleek Hill on June 28 and 29. The district display, on view at the annual, will be there.

Don Boudria, our MP, accompanied by his wife, made a brief appearance. He missed a marvellous, tableladen pot-luck supper, provided by all the branches, where Mayor Brian Coburn brought greetings.

The Prescott District 4-H Scholarship was awarded Shauna Mode: Everready 4-H Scholarship was presented to Eric Pommainville, both by Frankie, Higginson. The Margaret Burton Scholarship and plaque were presented by her to Ina Henry's daughter, Erica Henry. Mrs. Burton, mother of Joan

McGregor, had been a 4-H leader for 30 years, from age 50 to 80!

"Sage Age Theatre"
was the featured
entertainment which fit

nicely with our provincial theme, "Safe and Healthy Communities". They have to be seen to be believed; eight senior citizens with no props except two chairs, put on about 15 skits in 45 minutes on matters of concern to seniors in a very humorous way.

Eda van der Linden, Provincial Board Director, commented favourably on our district reports and urged members to read them. They contain so much good information and many ideas. She gave a summary of her

lengthy teport and was in charge of the election and installation of officers. Some changes are to take effect throughout our organization. The provincial board meetings, always held at Guelph, will move around Ontario. One will be held in Cornwall in November.

All members have an opportunity to meet Mrs. Lyndsay Hacket-Pain of England, President of the Associated Country Women of the World, our international organization.

Pennies for Friendship, which generate 75% of the income for ACWW and their worthwhile projects in the Third World, were collected during the singing of the Hymn of all Nations.

Branches collect "pennies" at each meeting.

For the first time, a plaque was awarded to the branch with the most new members. For 1996-97 it was presented to Erin McBride for Sunshine Branch (Prescott District) by Eda van der Linden. For

Russell District, it was awarded to the North Russell branch.

Door prizes were won by many members, including both secretaries. The big basket went to Ruth Moffatt, who hosted our second planning meeting.

Ethelda Boa of Lookout Bay gave the invitation for the 1998 district annual next May.

May 1997

