Roslin WI

The Members of Roslin WI (Trent Valley Area) were pleased to celebrate the Branch's 100th Anniversary on October 26, 2013. The event was held in Roslin Village at Trinity United Church. Participating in the celebration were Evelyn Peck, FWIO President, and Judy Kupecz, President of Hastings District, who presented Members with 100 year pins. Rick Phillips, Hastings County Warden, was also in attendance. Members were very grateful to all who braved the cold, gusty winds and torrents of rain to attend this celebration. The crowd was entertained by the musical group, The Sonsations, who varied their tunes with popular music and gospel songs, which were enjoyed immensely. Members prepared a beautiful assortment of sandwiches, cheese and pickle trays, as well as a lovely cake iced in the WI logo and the familiar blue and gold. The Branch would like to thank its honoured quests for their presence and participation. It was a wonderful and memorable day for all who attended.



Pictured in front (L-R): Darlene Burosch, FWIO President Evelyn Peck, Helen Reid, Janet Kennedy and Joan Reid. Back row: Audrey Thomas, Cheryl Kinsella, Megan Gagnon and Hastings District President Judy Kupecz.

Mitchell Square WI

Mitchell Square WI (Simcoe South Kempenfelt District, Simcoe Area) celebrated their 100th Anniversary on July 13, 2013. Simcoe Area President, Donna Jebb presented 100 Year Pins to the Members. Bruce Stanton, local MP and Garfield Dunlop, local MPP presented certificates of congratulations. Mayor Harry Hughes and Councillor John Crawford presented a certificate of congratulations and Township Pins to the Members. "Queen Elizabeth" even made a surprise visit to the celebration. Over 60 guests were served a delicious lunch and everyone enjoyed photo displays of past celebrations and activities.

A beautiful quilt depicting scenes of local landmarks had been crafted by two Members and was won by a lucky former Member of Mitchell Square WI.



Pictured (L-R): Mitchell Square WI Members Alice Robinson, Jean England, Nancy Cameron, Twyla Campbell, Donna Snider, Sheila Kirkland, Jean Crawford, Eleanor Heatherington, Joyce Strachan, Martine Pepler, Jean Horne and Doris Crawford. Absent are Berit McArthur and Marjorie Roe.

Bentpath WI

Seven ladies of the Bentpath WI (Lambton District, Southwestern Area) were presented with their 100 year pins on February 11, 2013. Over 50 past Members and community friends attended a very special day, viewing Tweedsmuir books and memorabilia. Congratulations and remarks were extended by government officials, the FWIO President, Regional Board Director, District and Area Presidents. A history of the Branch was compiled and read by the Branch President who is a 3rd generation WI Member. Benefits of membership were shared by a Member who joined in 1954. She shared her experiences in friendships, learning opportunities and the impact that WI has had in lobbying for changes effecting communities and the province over the last century. Many Branch Members have

been involved in 4-H homemaking clubs as members and then leaders. A guest soloist and a country band entertained, and then cake and refreshments were enjoyed by all.



Pictured: Bentpath WI Members celebrating their 100th Anniversary. Photo by John Phair, Today's Farmer.