LEE, Jennifer (con't)

## Lee was unanimous

Jennifer Lee was the unanimous choice of all five judges for the Robinson-Kelleher Memorial Trophy (Unit 201 ANAF Veterans) as Belleville's 1992 Athlete-of-the-Year.

However, several other Belleville athletes were also recog-

nized for their efforts over the past year.

Quinte Secondary School student Tamara Von Semler was the runner-up to Lee in voting after bringing home a gold medal in gymnastics from the 1992 OFSAA championships — the area's first in almost 20 years. Her placing helped lead the Central Ontario (COSSA) team to the overall provincial championship.

Third place in voting went to another local high school star, Malek Elrefaie of Centennial. Elrefaie competed in five events at the OFSAA track and field championships in 1992, winning two gold medals and one bronze. He also won the midget boys 300-metre event at the prestigious Hamilton Indoor Games.

Other athletes to receive votes for strong performances in 1992 were local Special Olympic speedskating champion John Newnham, who won two golds and one silver at the national championships in Saskatoon; provincial under-19 squash champion Ryan Bell, who also won the Central Ontario Junior Open in 1992; and Ian Carswell, who attends Lakefield College where last year he earned a silver medal at both the OFSAA and national cross-country championships and a bronze at the Ontario finals.

Past winners of the Robinson-Kelleher Memorial Trophy include Cory Walt (weightlifting), 1991; Chris Galbraith (hyrdroplane racing), 1990; Jason Zielski (rowing), 1989; Tammy Staple (track and field), 1988; Glenn Fortin (figure skating), 1987; Brian McCluney (motorcyle racing), 1986; and Michelle Foley (track and field), 1985.

Intell Feb 25/93 p.6