BELLEVILLE DIRECTORY.

1

BELLEVILLE MISCELLANEOUS DIRECTORY.

BELLEVILLE-Incorporated as a City, 1877.

The Corporation of the City consists of twenty-two members, three aldermen for each Ward, and the Mayor, all of whom are elected annually. The Council meets fortnightly, on Monday evenings, at half-past seven o'clock.

OFFICERS OF THE CORPORATION FOR 1884.

Mayor—James W. Dunnet.

Clerk—D. B. Robertson.

Treasurer—R. Tannahill.

Solicitor—L. H. Henderson.

Collectors—D. Ockerman and James Ross.

Harbor Master—A. Watters.

Street Surveyor—R. Taylor.

Auditors—William Mc∪oy and James D. Clarke.

CITY COUNCIL.

Mayor – James W. Dunnet.

Aldermen – W. Alford, Wm. G. Baker, W. H. Biggar, —
Blair, J. Campion, R. M. Clarke, —— Cooper, W. Davis, W. J.
Diamond, —— Graham, Thos. Hanley, J. W. Johnson, L. Johnson,
E. H. LaRoche, James Macoun, Henry McIninch, A. T. Petrie,
Geo, H. Pope, A. N. Pringle, Geo. S. Tickell, J. G. Vandusen.

STANDING COMMITTEES.

Executive—Ald. W. Jeffers Diamond, chairman; Aldermen Clarke, Blair, J. W. Johnson, Pope, Campion and Cooper.

Public Works—Ald. L. Johnson, chairman; Aldermen Petries McIninch, Tickell, Davis, Baker and Pope.

Fire—Ald. Macoun, chairman; Aldermen Clarke, Alford, Biggar, Graham, Cooper and Hanley.

Water and Gas — Ald. McIninch, chairman; Aldermen LaRoche, Tickell, Macoun, Baker, Pringle and Vandusen.

Harbor and Ferry—Ald. LaRoche, chairman; Aldermen Alford, J. W. Johnson, Diamond, Campion, L. Johnson and Pope.

Market and City property—Ald. Petrie, Chairman; Aldermen Blair, Biggar, Graham, Pringle, Davis and Vandusen.

Court of Revision and Committee on By-laws—Alderman Tickell, Chairman; Aldermen Clarke, Hanley, Campion and J. W. Johnson.

POLICE.

Thomas Holden, Police Magistrate; D. B. Robertson, Police Clerk; Hugh McKinnon, Chief of Police; J. McCrudden, 1st Sergeant; Thomas Downs, 2nd Sergeant; H. P. Cook, Constable; John Newton, Constable; Patrick Hayes, Constable; Patrick Meagher, Janitor.

POLICE COURT—Every day at the hour of 10 a.m.

BOARD OF HEALTH.

Mayor J. W. Dunnet, Wm. Blaind (Foster Ward), Francis Clarke (Samson Ward), C. J. Starling (Ketcheson Ward), Richard Taylor (Baldwin Ward), James Meagher (Bleecker Ward), Prof. J. T. Bell (Coleman Ward), Horace Yeomans (Murney Ward) and Dr. Tracy, Health Officer.

THE BELLEVILLE BOARD OF TRADE.

President, Thomas Ritchie,; 1st Vice-President, C. F. Smith; 2nd Vice-President, Henry Corby; Secretary, J. Parker Thomas; Corresponding Secretary, A. L. Geen; Treasurer, Fred Rous; Directors, Col. Brown, Messrs, Geo. P. Downey, G. H. Pope, James Macoun, J. P. Thompson, G. S. Tickell, Thomas Watkin, Wm. Smeaton, Thomas Kelso and J. W. Dunnet.

FIRE DEPARTMENT.

Officers.—Chief Engineer, Wm. H. Campbell; Asst. Engineer, James Cummins.

Moira Hose Co., No. 1.—Foreman, James Wilson; 1st Assist. Foreman, Samuel Cornelius; 2nd Assist. Foreman, Charles Stewart; Secretary, John Brown; Treasurer, Arthur McGinnis; Engineer, Daniel Cunningham.

INDEPENDENT HOSE Co., No. 2.—Captain, —— LaLonde;

MERRYWEATHER STEAMER, No. 2.—Engineer, James McCurdy; stoker, Geo. Roblin.

CHEMICAL FIRE Co., No. 5.—

STAGE ROUTES.

Belleville and Ameliasburg.— Office at the Commercial Hotel. Arrives 10 a.m.; leaves 2 p.m. I. Coleman, proprietor.

Belleville and Bridgewater.—Office at the Commercial Hotel. Arrives 10:30 a.m.; leaves 2 p.m. James Campbell proprietor.