

As good as gold...

Rick Engstrom (right), automotive service technology instructor at Alpena Community College, shows college trustees \$100,000 worth of engines, parts and equipment donated by Oldsmobile plants at Flint and Lansing for instructional use. Acquisitions of this size would be impossible for program budgets to handle. Board members (foreground, from left) Lee Britton, Harvey Hansen, John Briggs, Cathy Moe, Florence Stibitz, Dan Carstens, college president Donald Newport, and board chairman Roger Bauer visited the automotive lab during a campus tour held following their September meeting. (ACC Office of Public Information photo)

List 1991-92 recipients of local ACC scholarships

A number of local scholarships are available to students attending Alpena Community College, some provided by area businesses and service organizations, others by memorial funds and the Alpena Community College Foundation.

Scholarship awards vary from set amounts to total tuition and books. Eligibility is established by the donors. Some are needbased and others are based on academic achievement alone.

The first step in being considered for these awards is checking the box on ACC's admission application to indicate you are interested. Scholarship deadlines are also publicized by sponsoring groups. For more information, contact Max Lindsay (356-9021 Ext. 200).

1991 - 92 Local Scholarship Recipients

The following list is published to recognize this year's recipients and donors of local scholarships at ACC. It is not intended to be a complete list of scholarships available or awarded.

ONE-YEAR TUITION AWARDS

Besser Local 209 - Melissa Donajkowski and Douglas Ludwig, both of Alpena.

Presque Isle Corp. - Lisa Wekwert of Posen.

Wavne Wire Cloth - Melissa Vogt of Hillman.

TWO-YEAR TUITION AND TEXTBOOKS AWARDS

Lafarge Engineering - James Antkowiak of Lachine and Melanie Mitchell of Ossineke.

\$100 TO \$325 MEMORIAL AWARDS

John M. Adams - Richard Bowen of Alpena.

Julie Anderson - Anna Sparks of Alpena.

Roger Brilinski - Roger Johnsen and Dave Nowak of Alpena, and Richard Tucker of Hubbard Lake.

Robert R. Chater - Bertha Bisanz, Curtis Cosbitt, Eric Heussner, Jennifer Lay, Carrie Makowski, Terry Neumann, Timothy Neumann, Todd Pagels, Deanne Raniszewski, Kristine Schultz and Angela Wilson, all of Alpena; Becky Schultz of Hubbard Lake; Misty Kramer of Lachine; Kerri Barra of Newberry; Laura Kemnitz and Carolyn Larson of Ossineke; Tina Strzelecki and Lisa Wekwert, both of Posen.

Robert F. Clayton, Sr. - Jennie Baneck of Alpena.

Elwood Coombs - Jennifer Etzler of Hubbard Lake and Thomas Ciecorka of Ossineke.

O.B. Eustis - Stephanie Hart of Alpena.

Clifford Gamage - Laurie Kowalski of Alpena.

Robert W. and Ila C. Jones - Jennifer Gougeon of Alpena.

Alex and Esther Kennedy - Keith Chadwick of Alpena.

John D. Martindale - Stephanie Morang of Fairview.

Philip Noble - Jamie Kuchnicki of Alpena.

Cynthia M. Wise - Matthew Hibner of Lachine.

\$100-TO \$ 700 AWARDS

Abitibi - Mark Samp of Alpena.

ACC Faculty Council - Wendy Zielinski of Lachine and Kris Pieczynski of Posen.

ACC Fiction Contest - Kim Stevens of Alpena.

ACC Foundation - Sara Hempel, Denelle Smith, Jenine Sparks and Heidi Speaks, all of Alpena, and Jamillah Crawford of Houghton Lake.

ACC Physics Olympics - Fred M. Jackson, Jr. of Hillman.

ACC Presidential Leadership - Angela Bade, Becky Dragiewicz, Rachel Jakubiak, Jeff Kwiatkowski and Shelly Schultz, all of Alpena; and Jodi Lewandowski and Laura Taratuta, of Posen.

Alpena Kiwanis - Laurie Kowalski, Gretchen Lay and Jennifer Lay of Alpena and Jodi Radke of Hubbard Lake.

Alpena Optimist - Jennifer Gougeon of Alpena.

Alpena Rotary - Gregory Furtaw of Alpena, and Timothy Arnold and Sheila Bolda of Ossineke.

Alpena Young Woman of the Year - Roseanne Howard of Alpena.

Cooties Pup Tent 96 - Debra Clark, Keri Grzendzicki, Kiowa Kirchoff, and Karen Parkham, all of Alpena; and Lori Liske of Hubbard Lake.

General Telephone - Jennifer Goodburne, Karrie LeFebvre and Christina Masters of Alpena.

Hillman Lions - Jason Kenyon of Hillman.

Michigan Bell - Gary Gunderson of Alpena and Bret Benvenuti of Clio.

Presque Isle Bank - Jason Kenyon of Hillman and Jane Brege of Rogers City.

Secretary Local 211 - Shelly Schultz of Alpena.

VFW 2496 - Eric Bellmore and Heather Davis, both of Alpena.

Zonta - Jennifer Gougeon of Alpena.