Besser Award Winners to be Announced at Graduation

May 24, 1977

Besser Awards

The outstanding awards each year for the top sophomore students are the Jesse and Anna Besser Awards.

The awards go to those two outstanding stu- of the pending litigation (Jury trial). dents, (male and female), who exhibit an out- According to president of the faculty council, lastic achievement, leadership and responsibility.

their work cut out for them, as they had 19 names all of a sudden filed this lawsuit. It caught us comsubmitted for the awards.

00000

be announced until the graduation ceremony on nothing that is appropriate for us to do." June 3rd, the list of finalists has been released.

This years finalists are: Jim Allard, Jim Cle- Director of Personnel for the school system and one ments, Ken Gorris, Dennis Smith, Brenda Smith of the defendents in the case, "I'm really not sure and Roxanne Sterling.

Gradates Honored at A.C.C.-Wurtsmith Dana Marquette

The graduation ceremony for Alpena Community College graduates at the Oscoda/WAFB College Center was conducted on Friday, April 22, at the WAFB Officers' Club. The graduation ceremony was the frist ceremony conducted by the college Dow Leadership Award. for the Oscoda/WAFB Center.

Terry L. Meeder, acting President of Alpena Community College (ACC), offered the congratulatory remarks to the graduates. The commence-Board of Education for Alpena Public Schools, Margaret Cruise. Representing the graduating class, Joan E. Fitzgarrald presented the closing remarks.

By Jim Clements

In a move, unprecedented in the history of Alpena Community College, Mr. Delysle L. Henry has filed suit in Circuit Court against the Alpena Board of Education and two top administrators.

Alpena Community College, Alpena, Michigan

Litigation to

Decide

lawsuit

Mr. Henry, a political science instructor here at ACC, shook up the entire campus, surprising everyone with his 15 page allegation.

When asked what he thought of the charges, Mr. Henry said flatly, "It is not appropriate for me to make a comment at this time, mainly bacause

standing contribution to the college through sch- J. Wesley Law, "This is a very sticky situation for the faculty council and myself. Mr. Henry had The Besser Awards selection committee had exercised his right of grievance through us and then

pletely off-guard. The faculty council, and myself Although the recipients of the awards are not to must remain in the shadow on this thing. There is

In a phone interview with Mr. Stewart Olmstead, what is going to happen on this. His, (Mr. Henry's)

Each winner, male and female will receive a allegation is that we have tried to embarrass him hundred dollar award plus, have his and her name publicly. Of course I can not say anything about engraved on the Besser Awards Plaque, which is it, but he does have the right to have a jury trial. displayed in the library in the NRC building. He also, currently, has a grievance filed for a public hearing with the board. I do not know if

he will pursue the grievance or not."

The trial has been scheduled for sometime in June. No further details were readily available at this printing.

Wins Dow Award

Each year Alpena Community College selects the outstanding freshman student for the Herbert H.

The committee deciding this years recipient of the award had a hard time as there were twelve students originally nominated.

After much deliberation the committee, comment speech was presented by the President of the prised of faculty and administrators, narrowed the list down to three finalists: Lorraine Manitowabi, Dana Marquette and Marty Myhre.

NewHead Coach Named for A.C.C.

Vol. 8 No. 8

At a press conference held on May 20, 1977, the new head coach for ACC was officially announced.

Steve Schray, formerly assistant coach at the University of Denver, will take over the duties of Coach Morse and also will work for Student Services, in admissions and recruiting.

Schray, 26, was at the University of Denver for three years as assistant coach, and was a student assistant there before that. His team played such formidable opponents as UCLA and San Francisco.

Coach Schray is married and has one daughter. He is originally from Lake Odessa, Michigan. He received his Masters Degree at the University of Denver and at age 23 was recognized as one of the finest (and youngest) assistant coaches in the country.

The Student Senate held their annual election for president and vice president of 1977-78, on May 20, 1977.

Heidi Brown was elected President, and Gary Besaw Vice President.

All of this years Student Senate members will return to participate in reelection next year except, 1976-77 President Roxanne Sterling, and treasurer Jim Clements.

Approximately 15% of the student body voted in this years election.



Students graduating with honors were: Joan E. Fitzgarrald, summa cum laude, WAFB; Donald Jack, magna cum laude, Tawas; Arlene Lantz, magna cum laude, WAFB; Phillip Hampton, cum laude, Oscoda. Graduates from WAFB were: John Belile, Edwin Bergen, Charlene Boyle, Merry Clark, Richard DeShon, William Galt, and Paul McGann. Oscoda graduates were: John Eccleston, Anna-Maria Fortner, Harry Johnson, and Marian King. Graduating from Tawas was Sandra L. Heely.

-----A.C.C.-Wurtsmith Honors Grads, Page 4-----

These finalists were asked to write a letter of introduction, telling of their activities and interests, both as students and members of the community. Again, after much deliberation, the winner of the Dow Award was chosen

This years winner is Dana Marquette. Dana is a pre-med student here at A.C.C. When asked about her reaction to receiving the award, all she could say was, "Wow, I am really pleased and very surprised."

Dana will receive the award in ceremonies conducted during the Award's Banquet, on Wednesday, May 25th. The award, which will be presented by Dean of Students, Dean F. Souden, will carry with it a check good for one hundred dollars.

Dana Marquette