County of Brant Public Library Digital Collections
Search the collection
Featured collections
Featured essays
Featured links
Levi Boughton House

Summary The land on which the Levi Boughton house can be found was purchased in 1844 from Thomas Coleman and his wife. Boughton was the...

  Levi Boughton House
Workman House

What year did Lorne Calvin Workman will his lands to Robert Howard Workman?

  Workman House
Vine Cottage

Summary The name 'Vine Cottage' came from the stone cottage and wall covered with grape vines. The gardens were terraced to the south, and the...

  Vine Cottage
Snowball Grist Mill

Summary The construction process of the mill began in 1869 and went on for three years, culminating in a stone building built by local...

  Snowball Grist Mill
Hamilton Place

Summary Located in Paris, Hamilton Place is a three storey cobblestone building that was designed by Andrew J. Minney in the early 1840s. The...

  Hamilton Place
Bryning Manse

House Summary Bryning Manse was built for Reverend John Bryning in 1830. Bryning had been an English merchant before he "got religion" and...

  Bryning Manse
Charles Mitchell House

Summary With construction beginning in 1842, the Charles Mitchell House is one of the renowned cobblestone buildings in Paris constructed by...

  Charles Mitchell House
Penmarvian

Summary The original house was built by Hiram Capron in 1846 and known as the The Stone House. It took three years and twelve stone masons to...

  Penmarvian
Howell Block

Summary Howell Block has served a wide variety of functions within the St. George community, including a tinsmith, drug store, hardware store,...

  Howell Block
Glen Morris Public Library

Summary The Glen Morris Hotel, also known as Temperance House, was built in 1844 and opened by Robert Shiel. The first General Warehouse...

  Glen Morris Public Library
Postcard featuring the Charles Mitchell House

This item is a postcard with a photograph of the Charles Mitchell House on the front. The postcard was sent in 1907. For an in-depth description...

  Postcard featuring the Charles Mitchell House
Nixon Homestead

Summary Two miles east of St. George is the Nixon Homestead, built by Charles Nixon in 1853. The house has remained in the family to the...

  Nixon Homestead
Sunnyside

Summary Constructed in 1888 by Dr. E.E. Kitchen, Sunnyside was built as a show piece with well-kept grounds. This building was the location...

  Sunnyside
Jull House/Robinson Funeral Home

Summary The house was owned by the Jull family from 1904 until the late 1930s when it was purchased by Mr. And Mrs. Clare Robinson. It was...

  Jull House/Robinson Funeral Home
Thomas House

Summary Originally located in Oakland Township, the Thomas House was constructed in 1835 for John Thomas by William Abbot. Peanut butter was...

  Thomas House
Powered by / Alimenté par VITA Toolkit