The Opening of Henderson Park, June 14 1958
- Media Type:
- Item Type:
- 3 photographs and the ceremony program for the opening of Henderson Park, named after Trafalgar Township resident, Mr. W. Ernest Henderson. To view these, click on "pages" "select".
The park was opened by the Trafalgar Township Board of Parks Management to honour Ernie Henderson who had contributed so much to the Parks Management program and to open a lovely park for the recreation of children and the pleasure of adults. Minnie Henderson (or Mrs. Ernest Henderson) cut the ceremonial ribbon and her granddaughter, Elizabeth Wilson, presented her with a bouquet of roses.
The Canadian Champion photo caption reads, "Henderson Park, nestled in a valley midway between Oakville and Milton in one of Trafalgar Township's most picturesque rural districts, was officially opened Saturday [June 14, 1958] by Mrs. Ernest Henderson, whose late husband's name the park bears. Above is the scene as Parks Board Management officials, township councillors, and friends of the Henderson family gathered for the opening ceremony. The park is located about a mile east of the "S" bend, east of the highway below Milton." [East of Highway 25, renamed RR 25 or Bronte Road in 2017, on the Lower Base Line.]
Indeed, it wasn't long before the Oakville Recreation Commission was running summer day camps in the Park. See Also our collection of photographs and memories about these in OurOntario.
The main photograph in this record is the offical photograph of the group.
The second photo shows Minnie Henderson holding the bouquet of roses, with Elizabeth Wilson in front.
The third photo shows Elizabeth holding the rose bouquet with the ribbon stretched across prior to clipping.
The fourth is a scan of the ceremony program. Officials present were: Sam Hall, M.P.P. for Halton County, R.C.S. Cumberland, chairman of the Board of Parks Management, F.A. Phillips, Reeve of Trafalgar Township, Rev. B.A. Nevin. William Bateman, Ernest Pell, Joe Shea, Clifford Smith, Bob Graves, Frank Hall and Wes Haw? were the current Board of Parks members.
- Milton's newspaper, Canadian Champion, ran an item about the dedication of the park on Thursday, June 1, 1958. This is not available in Halinet but the TTHS has added information from the clipping to this record.
- Township of Trafalgar ; Board of Parks Management ; Opening Ceremonies ; Henderson Park ; Saturday, June 14th, 1958, 2:30 p.m. ; PROGRAM ; God Save the Queen ; Chairman's Remarks - R.C.A. Cumberland ; Introduction of Stanley Hall, M.P.P. ; Greetings & Official Opening - f.A. Phillips, reeve of Trafalgar Township ; Ribbon Cutting - Mrs, Henderson ; Dedication Address - Rev. B.A. Nevin ; Presentation of Flowers ; Inspection of Property - Basket Picnic
- Date Of Event:
- June 14 1958
- Personal Name(s):
- Walter Ernest Henderson, b.August 3, 1878 Trafalgar, d.October 13, 1956, Hamilton. Minnie Eliza (Stoutt) Henderson, b.December 5, 1877, d.September 20, 1959. The celebrated their Golden Wedding Anniversary in 1953. They are buried at Evergreen Cemetery, Milton. Their daughter was Wilma Maxine (Henderson) Wilson, b.December 29, 1913 d.January 9, 1982. Wilma married Henry (called Harry) Wilson on February 21, 1943 in Toronto.
- Local identifier:
- Trafalgar Township Historical Society
- Language of Item:
- Geographic Coverage:
- Recommended Citation:
- The Opening of Henderson Park, June 14 1958
Trafalgar Township Historical Society
Trafalgar Township Historical Society Sponsor: Jeff Knoll, Local & Regional Councillor for Oakville Ward 5 – Town of Oakville/Regional Municipality of Halton