The King Farm
- Media Type:
- Item Type:
- Members of the King family in front of what is now the Cork House, in which the family lived from 1900 until 1930.
Pictured are; Back l-r: Dora King, Violet King, Ettie King, Mary Ann (Helston) King, and others unknown.
The earliest section of the house was built by Amos Biggar in 1816, and single-storey additions were constructed over the next few decades under various owners.
Originally located at 502 Dundas Street, south side just east of the Sixteen Mile Creek, the home was moved in 2000 to 2441 Neyagawa Blvd. where it now serves as a combination showroom and museum under the care of the Jelinek Cork Group. The house has been restored to reflect its status as one of the oldest buildings in Trafalgar, and is one of the few remaining from the period of the MacKenzie Rebellion. It now showcases cork furniture and accessories.
At the time when the King family lived there, the house was already 100 years old, and in poor condition due to its age.
- Personal Name(s):
- Dora Alberta King.
Violet Winnifred King.
Ettie (Harriet May) King.
Mary Ann (Helston) King.
- Local identifier:
- Trafalgar Township Historical Society
- Language of Item:
- Geographic Coverage:
- Copyright Statement:
- Copyright status unknown. Responsibility for determining the copyright status and any use rests exclusively with the user.
- Recommended Citation:
- The King Farm
Trafalgar Township Historical Society
Trafalgar Township Historical Society Sponsor: Jeff Knoll, Local & Regional Councillor for Oakville Ward 5 – Town of Oakville/Regional Municipality of Halton