# WATERLOO LUTHERAN UNIVERSITY



### ANNUAL AUTUMN CONVOCATION

OCTOBER 29, 1966

UNIVERSITY THEATRE-AUDITORIUM
WATERLOO, ONTARIO

#### ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS

Members of the Convocation will rise at the sound of the fanfare and will remain standing until after the Invocation.

**FANFARE** 

Stannard

#### THE PROCESSION

The Marshal
Candidates for Degrees in Course
Faculty and Officers of Waterloo University College
Faculty of Waterloo Lutheran Seminary
Officers of the University
Alumni
Members of the Senate
The Board of Governors

The Bedel
The Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor
Candidates for Honorary Degrees
Participants in the Ceremonies

#### THE HYMN

God of our fathers, whose almighty hand Leads forth in beauty all the starry band Of shining worlds in splendor through the skies, Our grateful songs before thy throne arise.

Thy love divine hath led us in the past, In this free land by thee our lot is cast; Be thou our ruler, guardian, guide, and stay; Thy word our law, thy paths our chosen way.

From war's alarms, from deadly pestilence, Be thy strong arm our ever sure defence; Thy true religion in our hearts increase, Thy bounteous goodness nourish us in peace.

Refresh thy people on their toilsome way, Lead us from night to never-ending day; Fill all our lives with love and grace divine, And glory, laud, and praise be ever thine. Amen. THE INVOCATION

The Rev. Martin L. Dolbeer, B.A., B.D., Th.D. Acting University Pastor

PRESENTATION OF THE MACE

Glenn E. Carroll, B.A., M.A.

Associate Professor of Business Administration

The placing of the mace by the Bedel before the Chancellor, the Honorable W. Ross Macdonald, signifies the opening of Convocation.

#### CONFERRING OF HONORARY DEGREES

The President and Vice-Chancellor, Dr. William J. Villaume, will present to the Chancellor for the degree of Doctor of Laws, honoris causa

PHILIP SYDNEY FISHER
NORMAN CHRISTOPH SCHNEIDER

The President and Vice-Chancellor will present to the Chancellor for the degree of Doctor of Letters, *honoris causa* 

JOSEPH BASCOM ST. JOHN

The recipients will be invested with academic hoods by Dean Sheldon L. Rahn, Professor Karl Aun, and Professor Flora Roy.

THE ADDRESS

#### PHILIP SYDNEY FISHER

#### CONFERRING OF DEGREES IN COURSE

The Vice-Chairman of the Senate, Dr. J. Ray Houser, will present to the Chancellor candidates from Waterloo Lutheran Seminary and Waterloo University College. The Vice-Chancellor will assist the Chancellor in admitting the candidates to degrees in course.

Public Orators: Announcing the candidates for degrees in theology will be Dean Ulrich S. Leupold. Announcing the candidates for degrees in arts and science will be Dean Lloyd H. Schaus; Professors Charles E. Paape and Arnold A. Wellwood.

Professors Eduard Riegert, Lorne S. Russwurm, Herbert A. Whitney and Donald F. Morgenson, will invest the candidates with academic hoods.

BENEDICTION

The Rev. Eduard Riegert B.A., B.D., S.T.M. Chaplain, Waterloo Lutheran Seminary

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN

#### THE RECESSION

Members of the Convocation will remain standing during the Recession.

Immediately after Convocation a reception will be held in the Dining Hall. Tea will be served by the University Women's Auxiliary. The Chancellor, Vice-Chancellor, and recipients of honorary degrees will receive in the Mezzanine Lounge of the Dining Hall.

The Marshal: Professor James M. Clark.

Assistant Marshals: Professors George F. Durst, P. Basil Healey, Welf H. Heick and Sidney Hellyer.

Music: Courtesy of The Royal Canadian Regiment Band Capt. Derek Stannard, C.D., L.R.A.M., A.R.C.M., A.R.C.T., Director.

#### **DEGREES IN COURSE**

## WATERLOO LUTHERAN SEMINARY Bachelor of Divinity

Ronald Joseph Diggs, B.Sc.

Thomas Edward Dow, B.A.

## WATERLOO UNIVERSITY COLLEGE Bachelor of Arts

#### HONORS PROGRAMS

Jennifer Alix Darrell Honors Geography Robert John Enns Honors Philosophy James Richard Hansen Honors Geography

Bruce MacNaughton Homer
Honors History
Stephanie-Frances Elizabeth Houston
Honors Psychology
Pearo Nommik
Honors Political Science

Michael Stankowitsch Honors History George Thomas Walten Twine Honors Geography

#### GENERAL PROGRAM

Allen Marvin Andres Peter Charles Ansley William Kingsley Archer William David Arnill Peter Baerg Mary Ann Baird Mary Ann Baird
William Grant Ballantyne
William Gordon Beach
Richard Campbell Biggs
Beverly Arnold Bock
Lavine Marie Boyko
George Alan Burke Richard Olaseinde Callisto Paul Wayne Campbell Faul Wayne Campbell
William Roger Edgar Carlton
Stanley Brock Chatterson
James Robert Cocker
Joel Cohen
David Edgar Coutts
Michael Robert Cowan
Bighard Andrew Craig Richard Andrew Craig William Geoffrey Crealock Gordon Ronald Crosby Lawrence Alvin Daub Theodorus Josephus DeKoning
Barry Fisher Dickson
William Arthur Dodge
Christopher Charles Edward Eames David James Egerton Charles Garth Elliot Peter John Ellis Gary David Ewart Werner Fast Mary Faith Franklin Jacob Froese Frederick Garland Janet Claudia Gastmeier Herbert Scott Givens Lawrence Gladman

John Burton Gorman Margaret Helen Gray Gary Francis Green Patrick David Gruber Ronald George Harris Kenneth Mervyn Hope William Husak Peter Isaak Vincent Izzo
Adelheid Jacob
Lorne Sheldon Jackson
Martine Jansen Van Beek
Arthur Hemphill Jewell Ellen Jeanne Jolley
Douglas Walker Jones
Daniel George Karfell
John Ronald Kelcey
Addison Henry Klassen
Jeanine Cécile Kraemer
Keith Stanley Kunder
John Frederick Leeck
Ronald Clare Leis Ronald Clare Leis Doris May Litwiller John Gilbert Lovelock Nina Lucki Toni Susan Martens Douglas William Martin Harold Snyder Martin Donald Murray Masterson Ivan Mohammed Maija Sinikka Murto William Angus MacGregor John Dawson MacKay Susan May MacKinnon Allan Dickenson MacLean Donald John McEachern
William Ross McEachern
John Haining McGibbon
Thomas Michael McLaughlin Edward David Neigh

John Wayne Noble Miata Ofonagoro Edward Joseph O'Leary John Herbert Oliver John Lawrence Olmsted Charles Harvey Pedlar Charles Harvey Pediar Rudolf Putns Helen Louise Rainey Gary Winston Ramsey Lloyd John Ready Joyce Diane Reynolds Donald Duncan Ribey Pamela Margaret Riggins Robert Rowan Robin David Russell Eva Seifarth Gary Andrew Shewan Gwendolyn Bertha Short
James David Simpson
Francis Walter Skretkowicz
William Idris Smith Thomas Grant Sowerby Ernest Joseph Statten Gary Edward Taylor Sally Thompson Terrance Lloyd Tiessen
Erhard Turek
Elizabeth Anne Turner
George Swain Van Camp
Ian William Van Hamel Arnold Henry Nelson Ward Dale Cameron Webster Robert Larry Wiegand Katherine Wiens Michael Leonard Willmot John Fraser Wilson Oksana Marie Witer John Arthur Woods Basil Aristides Zettas David Stephen Zimmer

#### GENERAL PRE-THEOLOGY PROGRAM

Arno Edgar Bablitz Franklin Neil Berry William James Cullen

John William Glover

David Michael Iverson Philip Ernest Johnson David Arden Mertz James McColl Alan Reynold Webster James Gordon Wetherall

#### **Bachelor of Science**

Peter Lawson Doig

William James Mowat

Vaido Rooneem